Books Shopping

This is the Great Singapore Sale Month but instead of shopping around for clothes, shoes and bags. I top up on baking books, taking the opportunity of 20% Kinokuniya members discount. And I also caught Dorie Greenspan Baking : From My Home to Yours at a whopping 68% off from Amazon, it’s a bargain book but certainly new and no defects. According to Amazon, it’s books that are overstock that they purchase in quantities however there could be a slight mark or stamp on the edges of the book which I thought it’s alright. Even after adding in the base charges and shipping, the book is still at 41% off which is really a steal. I last check that the offer is still valid so if you’ve not gotten yours, perhaps it’s a good opportunity to add this to your bookshelf! Williams Sonoma – Cakes is the first few books I encounter when I start baking. I love how pictorial it is with the different steps and I’ve been putting off buying till now so since I’m doing the shipping, I thought I might as well add it to my cart.

I’m particularly impress with the one on bread, din expect that white toast could be so creative, I’m sure wanted to try a few recipes from there. The one one the bottom left is a Japanese translated book and I got it from the recent Popular Booksale for just S$5! No more books purchase these 2 months!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Books Shopping

  1. Bernice says:

    Wow, that’s a great steal for Baking! I love Baking and it’s the most utilised recipe books in my house. 😀

  2. Lilee says:

    Hi Elyn – I bought some cookie cutters/squeeze btls from u months ago! Wow, u got yourself a real good deal as I bought the Dorie Greenspan book only in April at USD26.40 and becoz I tompang my colleague’s order, he did not collect any shipping charge from me at all! Otherwise, my cost is even higher. Thanks for the tip re the Amazon bargain books. I also recently bought many books through Amazon the last few months and too scared to buy again as no more space to store! I also agree with you that ordering direct from Amazon is faster and may be cheaper versus via VPost; as I tried VPost and they messed up my very first order/shipment with them. Cheers

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Bernice, I can’t wait to receive mine!

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Lilee, glad to see you here 🙂 It’s my pleasure to share good buys here. Wow, you must have a vast collection of books now, which is your favourite one so far? I’ve storage problem with my bakewares thou, no more space!

  5. Lilee says:

    Can u believe that just on Cupcakes alone, I have almost 10 different books! I’ve got Nigella Lawson and Martha Stewart books, and few recipes from Nigella’s How to be a Domestic Goddess came out great. Haven’t really tried anything from Martha Stewart’s book yet, so no comment at the moment. Did a marble cake from Dorie’s book and it came out fabulous! Looking to bake more recipes from this book but the book itself is so HEAVY! Wish I could understand Chinese more, but find them quite difficult especially when it comes to the ingredients. No idea what some of them are.

  6. ek says:

    Hi

    May I know from which website did you get your chinese cookbook? Thanks

  7. Elyn says:

    The chinese books are from books.com.tw, they ship direct to Singapore and payment is via credit card – it’s hassle-free!

  8. ek says:

    Hi

    Thanks for the address.

Leave a Reply

