Pain De Mie

Pain de mie is the name for French Pullman Loaf, Pain in french means bread or loaf of bread and mie means crumb. This bread has sugar which is sweeter than normal French bread.

It’s now a very popular white loaf recipe in Taiwan, also call as 龐多米 and many food blogs have try it. Everyone have really good feedback on the bread, the texture is fine yet spongy and most importantly it’s soft! I din have much chance to try the bread yet cos nephew self service and took the whole loaf home for his ham and cheese sandwich. Back to the bread, they adapted the recipe from this book – 天然、無添加的手作麵包 by 王傳仁. The author has a good pictorial illustration on how the progress in his blog.

What attracted me to do this bread is one of the steps that involve folding and turning the dough after the first 50 mins. I’m curious how this technique would affect the bread texture. And morever this is using the straight dough method which is more straightforward.

One of the characteristics of this bread is the texture, this shot is taken under the sunlight. You could see the many small and big holes forming the bread. Somehow this is like a standard shot taken by pple who try the bread.

The bread is indeed soft. but I make a couple of mistakes during the process, I forgot to use cold water and I din seal the edges properly hence the bottom of the bread don’t look that smooth. I will be happy to stick to this recipe for my white toast!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pain De Mie

  1. Rei says:

    Hi, I was actually comtemplating on buying this book last Sat. at Kinokuniya. Now I regret not buying it. Aiyaya 😀

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Rei, if you like european bread than this is one to buy otherwise no regrets actually. I almost wanted to buy this book too but decide to take a 2nd look and make a reservation from the library instead. I will post up this recipe later 🙂

  3. Yvonne Lim says:

    Hi Elyn,

    What a coincidence, I’ve made this bread too (from the same book you had), take a look:

    http://afternoontearoom.blogspot.com/2008/06/pain-de-mie.html

    Will be trying English toast shortly ! Btw, any idea where can we get french bread flour locally ?

Leave a Reply

