The Ultimate Peanut Butter Cookie

I like Anna Olsen’s program – Sugar and when she demo this recipe, I knew I must try it so I bought a bottle of Peanut Butter and it must be the chunky type! I have a fren visiting so I thought it will be good to give her some cookies so I whip up everything within 20 mins, the cookies are then ready to be sent into the oven. This is a really easy to manage recipe.

The cookie dough is extraordinary soft. I use my smallest cookie scoop, put them on the parchment paper round like a ball and luckily I put them pretty far apart cos they really spread and flatten down like what you see here. Kind of like Subway giant cookies, the cookie is a little crisp on the outside, soft and chewy in the inside.

See how thin they are? I actually prefer this thickness than the normal one. I try very hard to recall if Anna’s Peanut Butter cookies look like this but could not. So I attempt to add another almost half cup of flour to the remaining batter and what I got now is this :

The cookie is able to hold the shape better with a little height and the pattern made by the fork is also easily see. The cookie is still crisp on the outside, soft and chewy inside. And yes, I love this cookie, sweet yet with a tinge of saltiness. Now I understand why Anna actually could not avoid trying the uncooked batter!

What you need :
½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
½ cup sugar
½ cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ cup peanut butter (smooth or crunchy)
1 ½ cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 180° C.
2. Cream together butter and sugars until pale and fluffy.
3. Beat in egg and vanilla. Stir in peanut butter.
4. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.
5. Add to peanut butter mixture and blend in.
6. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet and crisscross mark them with a floured fork.
7. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes, until cookies just start to colour around the edges.

Note :
– I would recommend to cut down the sugar, 15g each from caster and brown sugar will be good.
– I bake at 180 degrees for 9 mins in LG SolarDom Oven.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Ultimate Peanut Butter Cookie

  1. Sanrio3138 says:

    Thanks Elyn for sharing the recipe. I’m going to try out soon ^=^

  2. ilithrais says:

    This looks delicious! I’ll definitely try making some in the near future. =)

    Btw, ur pics are all really nice!

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Sanrio, thanks for dropping by 🙂 It’s a easy to prepare recipe so do give it a try!

    Hi ilithrais, thanks for your kind words 🙂

  4. Ooh these look to die for! They’re next on my to try list. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Elyn! 🙂

  5. ida says:

    Thanks for the cookies! we helped ourselves to it even tho’ it’s just after dinner… LOL

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi thecoffeesnob, you’re most welcome 🙂 Anna’s recipe is now available at http://www.asianfoodchannel.com. You could take a look. I look forward to see these on your blog too!

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, glad you and yr gal like it 🙂

  8. I just checked Anna Olson out at the link you gave me. Her show sounds really interesting! Is it currently showing on cable?

  9. Elyn says:

    Yes, her program is now on SCV Channel 16, showing on Tuesday at 9.30pm and a few other slots.

  10. Amanda says:

    These look so very yummy. I think I will make some today. Thanks for posting them with the recipe

  11. ovenhaven says:

    This looks so good that I’m tempted to go out and buy a jar of peanut butter just to bake these. Love the crisscross pattern!

  12. ek says:

    Hi

    Baked some of them this afternoon, followed the recipe from Baking by Dorie Greenspan but the dough was super soft, unable to achieve the crisscross indentations at all, nonetheless they taste yummy.

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi ek, I’ve the same problem too. Does your cookie came out soft and chewy? I couldn’t achieve the criss-cross pattern and they spread really badly so I add into more flour to a manageable dough.

  14. Pingback: Yeah to skippy! « Bernice’s Baking Journey

Leave a Reply

