Chocolate Almond Biscotti

Biscotti is a type of Italian biscuit and refers to twice baked. They can be stored for a long period of time and not easily crumble. I always think Biscotti is hard like rock, till I tried some from a little cafe which is crisp and addicting that I want to try making my own. So I went around searching for recipes and it’s just so timely that Anna Olsen was demonstrating Peppered Espresso Biscuiti this week. She highlighted that this is more of crisp texture which is what I want. I omitted black pepper, espresso, cinnamon and also halve the recipe and adapted to my version.

This recipe is definitely a keeper, really easy to prepare. It’s chocolately, crunchy and crisp! I just pack some, sealed them air-tight and send them to my friend in Taiwan! I hope she like them 🙂

Ingredients :
60g unsalted butter
100g caster sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 + 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
150g Plain Flour
20g Valrhona Cocoa Powder
3/4 tsp double action baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup blanched almond

Method :
1. Toast the almonds at 180 degrees for 10 mins, chop and leave aside to cool.
2. Beat butter first and add sugar gradually, cream till it is light in color and fluffy.
3. Add in beated egg and vanilla extract.
4. Sieve flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt together.
5. Fold in the dry ingredients and add in chopped almonds.
6. Transfer the soft dough onto greaseproof paper, shape to a log and using a fork to poke some holes so that it will not crack easily.
7. Bake at 180 degrees for 35-40 mins till firm and golden brown.
8. Leave to cool till lukewarm before slicing to 1 inch thickness.
9. Bake again at 170 degrees for 12 to 15 mins till crisp around the edges.
10. Biscotti will firm up further when it is cool.

Adapted from Anna Olsen’s Sugar II

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Chocolate Almond Biscotti

  1. Ida says:

    Beautifully done! do i get a pack too? 😛

  2. Elyn says:

    next week .. next week sure have! the most important female lead went for her spa so cannot bake!

  3. These look so good! I imagine they would do really well with being shipped. Your friend’s one lucky lady!

    By the way, the one time i made biscotti, a huge split formed on the top of my log while baking. Was that supposed to happen?

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi thecoffeesnob, thanks! I read from one book is to poke holes over the log before you bake so that air escapes and doesn’t force the log to crack (something like that), I did that yesterday and it works, just 2 -3 small crack on the top. However the side which I din poke with a fork did have a large crack. Give it a try!

  5. Oh wow what a neat trick. I have to give that a shot. Thanks for sharing, Elyn 😀

  6. ovenhaven says:

    I love that second photo of yours. The biscotti looks perfect! Send some my way, if you’ve got extras! 😛

  7. Y says:

    Beautiful looking biscotti! I have a favourite chocolate biscotti recipe that also has bits of chocolate in it. Your friend in Taiwan is very lucky to receive such a great gift 😀

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Y, thanks for your kind words! I think having bits of chocolate inside sound good too! Will try that next time.

  9. dubiousforest says:

    Hi!

    May i know vanilla extract is in powder form or solution form?

    Thanks! =)

  10. dubiousforest says:

    And roughly how long u wait before cutting them?

  11. Elyn says:

    Probably around 45 mins? When it’s cool to the touch. Vanilla extract is in liquid form, just like vanilla essence.

  12. dubiousforest says:

    oh thanks!

    vanilla extract is it those for agar agar jelly one?

    or which kind do you recommend?

  13. Elyn says:

    No … you dont add vanilla extract into agar agar jelly, it’s always added to cakes/cookies. You could buy them from Phoon Huat.

  14. dubiousforest says:

    hahaha thanks for the recipe! =)

    it was a successful baking! =D

  15. Jomeow says:

    Hihi, i tried your wonderful recipe with slight changes (added dark chocolate chips and hazel nuts) and it turned out great! I like to seek your advice. If I want to have a richer chocolatey taste, do i increase the amount of cocoa powder? Say if i increase the cocoa powder by 10g, do I reduce the flour by 10g?

Leave a Reply

