Matcha Chiffon Cake

I’m not a Matcha fan but neither do I want to keep the little bottle of Matcha Powder there till it expires so I try a new recipe – Matcha Chiffon Cake. I didn’t know what to expect out of it, will it have a “tart” taste? will it have the aftertaste of Matcha Hot Tea? I think that is a fun part of baking, you don’t know how it turn out till it is baked and tasting it. I am indeed surprise how it turn out, it has a light Matcha fragrance and certainly not overwhelming that I worry. As it’s a chiffon cake, the overall is just light, soft and fluffy which makes a great combination with Matcha.

I’ve grew to love making chiffon cake. When I first started out baking, I would not even think of making chiffon cos I’ve heard/read enough horror stories that it is the most easily failed cake. While it still is but once you grab hold of the technique, it’s manageble. I’ve since made a couple of chiffon and I bake them mostly at night as it dun really take much time and with lesser utensils to wash, most importantly there is no greasy feeling as it’s just corn oil. However I could not do any photoshoot since I don’t have the appropriate lighting that always leave a yellow hue on the picture.

We’ve some nice bakers here who spare their time to do a picture by picture explanation and doing a very very detailed write-up on chiffon cake which I thought beat any other recipes book that is available in the market.

Rei –
Chiffon Cake Tips and Trouble II
Chiffon Cake Tips and Trouble

Life and Cook – 戚風蛋糕分解步驟圖

Matcha Chiffon Cake
For 20cm/8″ pan

Ingredients :
85g Cake Flour
3g Baking Powder
7g Matcha Powder

3 Egg Yolks
40g Caster Sugar
Pinch of Salt
35ml vegetable oil
30ml water

4 Egg Whites
70g Caster Sugar
1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 180C
2. Sift flour, baking powder and matcha powder together, and set aside.
3. Put egg yolks in a large bowl, whisk lightly, add 40g granulated sugar, salt, corn oil, orange juice, water and mix well.
4. Combine the yolk mixture and flour together till smooth and set aside.
5. in another bowl, whip egg whites with cream of tartar and add in 70g of sugar gradually and whip till stiff peaks form.
6. Fold egg-white mixture 1/2 into the batter, and mix them with spatula gently, and then fold in the remaining 1/2.
7. Pour batter into the pan, and smooth the top.
8. Bake for 45minutes.
9. Remove cake from oven; invert the pan over a glass soda bottle till the cake completely cools down.
10. Turn cake right-side up. Run a table knife all the way down between cake and pan; invert again, and remove cake.

Notes :
Recipe adapted from Naoko/Flickr but I’ve made a few changes to :
– Instead of lemon juice, I added 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar.
– Find it a little too sweet so I cut down the sugar from 50g to 40g.
– I added one more egg white.
– I sift the Matcha powder together with flour

Happy Baking!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Matcha Chiffon Cake

  1. lorrine says:

    Did you whisk your egg whites with your new KA ?

  2. Rei says:

    Hi Elyn, Thanks for the compliment! 🙂

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Rei, you’re most welcome 🙂 I shld be the one thanking you instead, u did such a good write-up on chiffon to share!

  4. delia says:

    Nice cake, Elyn. Will be trying out your recipe soon. Looks like pandan chiffon cake.

  5. daphne says:

    Hi Elyn, I made this cake today. It turned out gorgeous and it’s my best chiffon cake so far (hehe, this is my third chiffon, both my 1st and 2nd were pandan chiffon). I just luv it so much, thank you very much for sharing.

    However, I have 1 question, my egg yolk mixture was a bit tough to stir after I hv added the orange juice to it. I didnt know what to do so I just added water bit by bit to it to dilute. Is the egg yolk mixture suppose to be thick and tough or I have over whisked it? Luckily the outcome still turned out good. Appreciate your advice.

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Daphne,

    So glad to know you like the recipe and have success in it. I don’t think there is chances of overwhisking the egg yolk mixture. I din dilute it either but I do realise the egg yolk mixture tend to get thicker as time goes by (not only wif this recipe) so what I do now is I will only add in the flour when the egg white is almost done. I believe it could also be due to the absorbent level of the flour?

  7. Ean says:

    Can I use self raising flour instead of cake flour?

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Ean, wont recommend that you use self-raising flour as there are both baking powder and baking soda, the flour protein level is also higher which may result in a tough cake.

  9. Ean says:

    Hi why you need to put orange juice? Will the cake taste orange taste? Will try this recipe soon

Leave a Reply

