Swiss Roll

Vanilla Swiss Roll sandwich with chocolate whipped cream and Valrhona Crunchy Pearls.

I’ve always wanted a perfect roll with no cracks and I manage to do it today 🙂 Felt so satisfied. The preparation is manageble, whisk eggs till ribbon stage, add in flour, add in butter/oil and bake. It’s important to level the batter surface so you won’t have uneven top. But I din set the temperature high enough hence it wasn’t brown enough on the outside but the sponge cake was bake to soft and spongy. I whipped up some non-diary whipping cream with a little chocolate paste and added generous amount of Valrhona Crunchy Pearls. So the next time I shall bake at 210 and for 8 mins and I will want to prepare a batch of buttercream for the filling! I can’t wait to do more swiss roll but there is always so limited time for attempts, as much as I try to bake on every weekend, that’s only 8 recipes I could try a month or 96 recipes a year! While saying this, I miss making bread!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Swiss Roll

  1. ida says:

    ohhh… must be yummy… soft cake and crunchy choc pearls.

    congrats for a beautifully rolled roulade!

  2. reena says:

    Your swiss rolls look very yummy!

  3. Sihan says:

    congrats! that looks delicious! and i too love the crunchy valrhona pearls!

  4. guowei says:

    heyhey.
    i really liked how ur swissroll turned out!
    but you have a peekture of ur molten choc cake on the main page,
    could i have the recipe?

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Reena, Sihan, Guowei – thanks for your kind words 🙂

  6. pawsinsd says:

    Looks great to me! I’m so bad at baking. Must be because Mom and both sisters are so good at it that I targeted appetizers and main courses.

    Your effort is beautifully done and hope you enjoyed it. dee@cookingwithdee.net

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Dee, thanks for your kind words 🙂

  8. lalawines says:

    hey the roll looks yummy! can you tell me where to get Valrhona Crunchy Pearls or cholocate and the prices?

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi! You could get them from Sun Lik 🙂 Sorry, could not remember the prices.

Leave a Reply

