Baked Mini Mooncakes

I would never thought of making baked mooncakes as I always remember them having hard skin and dry fillings. Since I’ve tried my hands on snowskin last year, I do want something different this year and mum suggested that I try baked ones. After looking through a few recipes and preparation method, I took notes and get myself started. I thought the preparation will be complicating but it is actually the same as snowskin preparation method, just that there is spraying of water before baking and the midway egg wash and second round of baking. Things went a little haywire during the process, I eggwash before bake! That explain the uneven color otherwise all things went well. The skin was rather dry on the first day but it’s already softer on the second day, I read that it will take 3 days for the mooncake to be “ready” for eating where the oil would have settle down?

I think I make the skin a little too thin but I’m happy that they’re quite even all round! And I’ve to say that I do enjoy baked ones now, the lotus paste just melt in the mouth and the fragrant of baked mooncakes!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Festive Goodies, Mooncakes. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Baked Mini Mooncakes

  1. Ida says:

    Yay! U made them… now u know why i’m a fan. *wink*

  2. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Like you, I always tot bake mooncakes are more diffcult to make but I tried my hands on it last year. I think it’s easier than snow skin. This year I have also ventured into making mixed nuts mooncakes. You should try making this type also.

  3. Anne says:

    Elyn…your baked mooncake looks so golden and yummy. Love the design, and thanks to you I now have the moulds, too. Would you please post the recipe? Thanks so much
    Anne

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, yes … home made ones are so different from those sold outside. It’s not so sweet and not dry, I’m a fan now too!

    Hi Delia,
    Mixed nuts? sounds good but looks like there are a couple of ingredients involve which I am too lazy to gather 🙂

    Hi Anne,
    Thanks for your kinda words!

  5. Me says:

    Elyn,
    I am so proud of you!! They look delicious, my 1st ones were a disaster. I remembered you told me you’re not fan of the baked ones, now you are 🙂

  6. Alice Lim says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Yr baked mooncake looks so shiny golden and very tempting. Good job. Well done! Hip Hip Hurray x 3 🙂

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Me! Thanks 🙂

    Hi Alice, thanks for your kind words 🙂

  8. ek says:

    Wow, your mooncake looks fantastic. Now very tempted to give it a try. Not really a mooncake fan although my family helper is very keen, will probably do it over the weekend.

  9. reena says:

    Looks delicious! I’m drooling!

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi ek, thanks 🙂 What a coincidence, my sis helper also love the baked one, I gave 3 to my sis and the helper finish them all!

    Hi Reena, thanks 🙂

  11. Jessica says:

    Hi Elyn,

    for ur mini baked mooncake.. how much time u set when put in the oven ?
    did u do egg glaza halfway during baking ? thanks

    rgds.
    jessica

  12. Elyn says:

    Hi Jessica, do you mean temperature? I set at 180 degrees. Yes, you should egg glaze half way during baking.

  13. Jas says:

    hi Elyn,

    Your mooncakes are very nice! The skin looks just nice to me, why did u say that they are too thin?

    May i know what is the proportion of dough to filling you used for your baked mooncakes? I bought the 63g mould(8R), are u using 63g as well? Thanks.

  14. wah mui says:

    wow, you’ve made a very pretty mooncake. Can I have your recipe. Your raw mooncakes are the best I have ever seen. The patterns are so clear. I’ve got similar moulds but I just have difficulties in casting them and getting them out. The other hard thing is the skin is so sticky and fragile and I can’t finish moulding them without the help of plastics.
    Congratulations. You have got a success with just first trial.

  15. wah mui says:

    mid autumn festival is so near. would you please post your recipe and I shall make some mooncakes at least half as pretty as yours.

  16. Elyn says:

    Hi Wah Mui, for the baked ones, you can try the recipe from here -> http://auntyyochana.blogspot.com/2006/08/traditional-moon-cake_19.html. Thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

