Ethicality

Trying out 3 new mooncake plates, I especially love the design with Lian Rong – Lotus Paste!

On another note, coincidentally I found out someone copied the recipe I’ve translated and also the picture I’ve taken for the Hearty Scone literally just like that. No link, no mention of it back to my blog. I really feel that this is unethical, I do think it’s alright to keep a copy of the recipe in your own blog but please have the courtesy to put a link back and give credit. I would share the recipe I’ve tried as far as I could but with pple who do not know how to respect, it’s so discouraging that makes you start wondering if it’s worth keeping the blog open, sharing the recipe?

Update
The blog owner has emailed to me, admit that she copied my photo and recipe and thought since the recipe is published and to be shared, it’s alright to do so. She have since taken down that entry. I won’t be publishing her blog address here but I hope this is a reminder to others that it is not alright to do so.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Festive Goodies, Mooncakes, Thots. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ethicality

  1. Hi Elyn, that’s my exact sentiments!

  2. ida says:

    Glad the problem is now solved. 🙂

  3. Rei says:

    Hi Elyn, have you tried contacted the other party? Understand it is disheartening to find your recipes and pics to be ripped off and copied just like that.

  4. tweetybird says:

    That’s really not nice! Hope it was an oversight.

    I love the shape of ur mooncakes. How do u get such smooth shape? Thx!

  5. A says:

    Sorry to hear about the copying. It’s a shame people tend to do that on the www.

  6. me says:

    Hi Elyn,
    I feel your anger!!
    Please don’t be discouraged, whoever did that should be ashamed!!
    Your recipes and your pictures will always be yours no matter where they are posted.

    Keep testing and sharing with us.

  7. Suzz says:

    Woah! Thats really rude. You should show their link and expose them. you know the web is very open and words gets around in web speed.

  8. caroline says:

    Hi Elyn – your mooncakes are beautiful.
    Please do not give up – I am behind you. Your bakery stuff are delicious and all credits go to you!Keep up your baking adventures! 🙂

  9. Mui Mui says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I agree with you. It’s not nice at all to do this. Cont. to keep yr site open, n dun be discouraged. Aunty Yochana had encountered bad mannerism in her blog too.

    Btw, yr mooncakes looked so pro! Where did u get the paste from? I still hv no time trying out mooncakes, busy with 2 children. 😦 The ‘lian rong’ plate is very nice indeed!

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, appreciate your understanding 🙂

    Hi Ida, thanks for your help!

    Hi Rei, only blogspot owner is allow to comment in her blog so there is no way I could contact her.

    Hi Tweetybird, she admitted that she did copy it 😦

    Hi A, Suzz, Caroline, thanks for dropping a note.

    Hi me, I got a shock when I saw it but thankfully everything is over now.

    Hi Mui Mui, I got my paste from Kwang Cheong Thye.

  11. Mui Lim says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I just done with my 1st batch of snow skin moonies! I really like yr moulds, so easy to use and so beautiful sharp prints! Thanks for selling them.

    So visit my kitchen heaven 🙂 Yes, I finally have the time to try it out!

    Cheers,
    Mui Lim

  12. bakingoncloud9 says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Tks so much for the moulds and your info on the low sugar white lotus paste, i love it! My colleagues complimented on how pretty the moonies turn out, and credits definitely went to you (& your moulds!). I did the mooncakes on tues, but only managed to post in my blog today. busy with work and baby.

  13. ovenhaven says:

    Oh dear, that’s not ethical at all! I’m glad the blog owner had taken the entry down. On another note, though, your blog has one of the most beautiful mooncakes I’ve seen ever!

  14. Elyn says:

    Hi Mui Lim, glad to know you’ve start on your mooncake making too and enjoy using the moulds.

    Hi bakingoncloud9, glad to know your mooncakes receive good compliments for it.

    Hi Ovenhaven, thanks so much for your kind words 😛 I’m still exploring and learning everytime I make them.

Leave a Reply

