Chocolate Snowskin Mooncakes

I have been wanting to do Chocolate Snowskin Mooncakes, I have tried a few lotus paste but sadly to say that it’s not what I want. Some look really dark, I would say almost black in color and thou it has a chocolate taste but also come with a charcoal aftertaste. The other one doesn’t even have chocolate taste. Last week I tried the Chocolate truffle but when I bring the mooncake out to cut, I could not cut through, it’s just too hard! And the chocolate fragrant isn’t strong enough.

So this week I attempt to create my own, I added chocolate paste and rum into the snowskin which I have a nice brown color. And I add a Ferrero Rocher in the middle! As I’m using a smaller mooncake mould, I remove the outer layer that is coated with chopped hazelnuts and use the wafer middle & center chocolate. I love this much better, the chocolate is softer and melt in the mouth. I also tried another variation which I added Valrhona Crunchy Pearls inside which added the extra crunch inside.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Festive Goodies, Mooncakes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chocolate Snowskin Mooncakes

  1. Sihan says:

    hi!

    i just used the mooncake moulds that i bought from you! they are awesome!!! so hassle free and the designs are soo pretty.. thanks a million! keep those mooncakes coming!

  2. Chinee says:

    hi,

    must be yummy yummy. i like the peony moulds, v sweet looking.

  3. Ahem says:

    Mooncakes galore lately..

  4. Alice Lim says:

    Hahaha Elyn,

    You beat me to it. I was going to try the Ferrero Rocher (instead of using truffle) for the center this coming wkend. Now I will definitely do it! 🙂

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Sihan, Great to know that! I look forward to see your moonies 🙂

    Hi Chinee, that’s my favourite too!

    Hi Ahem … Happy Mooncake Festival!

    Hi Alice, yes do try cos it’s pretty nice 🙂

  6. esforno says:

    Nice mooncakes you have there!

    & it’s real creative to have thought of Ferrero Rochers!

    I guess i’ll try them someday as well!

  7. ling says:

    this is really very creative and i didn’t think of that. i only thought of using chocolate truffles as the “yolk” only.

Leave a Reply

