Measuring Jug

Are you glad that there is finally one post aside from mooncakes? *chuckle* Hm … I’m glad too! While I do enjoy making mooncakes but imagine it’s nothing but mooncakes for 5 consecutive weeks and in between there are the orders to fulfill. The major production will begin this weekend, after 100 odd lotus paste filling last night, I literally smell of lotus paste! Putting that aside, this post is more of my experience using the measuring jug. I’ve been using the plastic type but while I was preparing some orange juice in the plastic jug the other day, I was horror to find that somehow the acidity of the orange has “eaten” up the surrounding of the jug which the surface became rough. Do check yours too! I decided to buy a glass measuring jug in the end, I don’t have to worry about pouring hot water in, I use it to melt butter/chocolates as well. Thou it’s a little heavy as mine is a 4 cups but at least I could use it with ease.

If you’re wondering what’s inside the jug? It’s actually the mooncake syrup that will be use for preparing baked mooncakes!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Measuring Jug

  1. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I know u own a kitchenaid mixer, is it the KSM150? May i know if u can use that mixer to mix small amount of ingredients such as 2 egg white?

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Mima, yes … it’s the KSM150. yup, no problem with beating 2 egg whites. For other like butter/sugar, you have to scrap down the bowl more frequently.

  3. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Thanks for the info. I appreciate it very much. I saw the BeaterBlade thru http://www.beaterblade.com which scrapes the sides of bowl as it beats the ingredients but dunno whether its available here in Singapore. If you do know where i can find this stuff, pls let me know ya. Thanks

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Mima, this look like a very useful tool for KA mixer! I catch up on some reviews and watch the video, it certainly look good! I don’t think it’s available in Singapore, guess have to order from overseas.

  5. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn, yes indeed, i think u shud try to get one. It helps save time. I went to Mayer to take a look at the kitchenaid, it’s now on promotion $819 only but i’m not getting one cos the bowl too small for me. I’m waiting for the kenwood km020, it will be here in October/November this year. It comes with a flexi beater and stainless steell attachments. So for now i shall use my trusted hand held beater.

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Mima, yes … KA’s price went up after the sale period. Oh, u wanted a bigger bowl capacity. So Kenwood has a new flexibeater too! Would the price be close to more than S$1K? Thanks for the info, I’m getting the beaterblade, will be receiving it next week!

  7. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,

    You’ll be baking with no hassle with the beaterblade and baking wud be more fun. Hope u enjoy using the beaterblade.
    The KM020 wud cost more than 1K definitely cos the earlier model which is KM005 is already about 1.1k.
    But if it is good and reliable i dun mind getting one but right now my handheld mixer works fine. Besides its very handy too. Check out my blog if u have time
    http://www.mimasoven.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

