Vanilla Pound Cake & more on BeaterBlade

I was quite set to do a pound cake since begining of this week and not any fanciful one, just the good old vanilla pound cake, 2 objective to meet – to use Vanilla Bean Paste my dear fren got for me and also to see the performance of the beaterblade for the creaming method. But I understimate my loaf tin and the pound cake ended up too short 😦

The close-up shot of the BeaterBlade, the sides of the blade is not level to the surface, the blade is is tilted at probably 15 degrees.. The entire blade is made of plastic but those sturdy type. I’ve no problem fitting the BeaterBlade to the KA, it fits well.

The wiper blade which scrapes the sides and bottom of bowl while it mixes. In the begining, you will hear some squeaking sound but once the butter is soften then it’s alright.

With very limited space in the mixing bowl, this is the best shot I could take, look at how close the wiper blade is close to the mixing bowl wall.

 This is creaming of 100g butter, the butter stays at the bottom of bowl instead of sticking to the mixing bowl wall.

How it looks like after adding sugar and eggs, I do feel that the batter is more evenly mixed than before and it took a shorter time as the batter doesn’t stick to the sides. Till now, I need not stop the machine to scrape down the side of the bowl. I have also use the machine to fold in the flour using the stir speed and have to say that it really fold much better, most of the time at the end of the folding session using the normal flat beater, you will find at least 1/4 of the flour not fold in properly. But this beaterblade really cut down that, I merely use the spatula to do a check and everything is incorporate nicely.

The traditional way of preparing pound cake is 1lb butter, 1lb flour and 1lb sugar but there are now variations to the proportion, to each own liking. I like this vanilla pound cake – the butter fragrant and also the vanilla bean paste is satisfying! Williams Sonoma’s recipes have not fail me so far.

Pound Cake
310g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
250g unsalted butter
300g caster sugar
4 large eggs
1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

Method :
1. Preheat an oven to 170°C. Lightly grease one 21.5 X 11.5cm loaf tin.
2. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt until blended. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat together the butter, sugar, vanilla extract on medium to medium-high speed until light and fluffy.
3. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition until just blended.
4. Sprinkle half of the flour mixture over the egg mixture and stir until both are just incorporated. Then sprinkle with the remaining flour mixture and stir until evenly distributed.
5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and tap gently on the counter to even out and settle the ingredients.
6. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes
7. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool for 15 minutes.
8. Run a thin knife around the inside of the pan, invert the cake onto the rack and lift off the pan.

Recipe adapted from Williams Sonoma – Cakes : Fillings & Frosting

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking tools, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Vanilla Pound Cake & more on BeaterBlade

  1. That is such a gorgeous pound cake! The Beaterblade looks like it really does such an amazing job.

  2. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Sounds like you are very happy with your beaterblade encounter, i’m happy for you. By the way Elyn, i remembered your entry on vienesse chocolate sable cookie sometime ago, i wonder if you could share the recipe with me as i would like to try it baking it for my hari raya. I’ve searched the internet for the recipes but there’s several versions and not sure which one is the full proof one. Thanks ya Elyn. You can email the recipe to aminres@pacific.net.sg

  3. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Thank you so much for the recipe. I appreciate it very much. It’s generous people like you that makes the world a better place to live in.
    Regards – mima

  4. lorrine says:

    Wow wow, u must tell me when this is available in Sin !

  5. Ida says:

    looks like a good “investment”. the cake looks very good! i’m so hungry now.

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Laureen, give a try to this recipe 🙂 Yes, the beaterblade has done a good job!

    Hi Mima, thanks to your recommendation! No regrets at all getting it.

    Hi Lorrine, have not seen this in Singapore so have to order from US.

    Ida! I’ve no regrets getting it, it really work as what I’ve seen! tempted?

  7. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,
    I thot you would get the beaterblade in pink cos i saw somewhere that it comes in pink too, very sweet, it matches the colour of your kitchenaid.

  8. Sihan says:

    damm.. now i regret not having bought a kitchen aid earlier. anyway, I’ve passed you an award over at my blog. Do take a look k?

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Mima, I forgot about the pink color but am happy with this otherwise it will be too pinky too!

    Hi Sihan, thanks for the award 🙂 Work hard and get yourself the mixer!

  10. Jennifer says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Thanks for sharing, my beaterblade is on the way, in the plane now. Your pound cake looks delish. Cant wait to try it out.

  11. Elyn says:

    Hi Jennifer, good to know you’re getting yours too! I hope you find it good 🙂 Do come back here and let us know what you think about it!

  12. Wendy says:

    Hi Elyn,

    May I know which website did you order yours?

    Thanks,
    Wendy C

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi Wendy, my fren bought it for me from the store but you could try Amazon, they have it too!

  14. NanasMom says:

    Please, Please, Please share the Butter Cookie recipe that leaves such clear indents after baking !
    They look delicious ! My grandkids would love them!
    I would bake them today if I could !
    Also, anyone have a recipe for those big, fat,
    bakery sugar cookies you can buy? I’ve tried several recipes and they all fall flat…..I love cookies !
    Thanks so very much, I’m new to this internet stuff and I love it ! So many nice people out there!
    NanasMom……. rooksnest@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

