Oreo Cupcakes

I really bake a lot last weekend, not feeling tiring at all but with a sense of satisfaction. It’s like working in a little bakery, tray after tray into the oven in a systematic order, cool on the rack then pack. It’s really quite fun – at times.

I bake a total of 100 Oreo Mini Cupcakes, total of 500g butter, almost a kg of plain and cake flour, 10 eggs, lots of Oreo Cookies. I try to use a new recipe everytime and this round I use Bakingmum’s Oreo Cupcakes, I have read that how soft and moist the cake texture is. It has a slightly different preparation method, instead of creaming butter and sugar, it is to rub the butter into the flour till it resembles bread crumbs, add in the egg and it’s ready for baking, very minimal of mixing too. I bake a total of 2.5 times of the recipe and had to separate into 2 round despite using the stand mixer, I did everything using the stand mixer which really ease up the workload. It’s weigh weigh weigh the dry ingredients, goes into the mixer, cut up the butter into cubes, into the mixer again, whisk the milk, eggs and vanilla essence and gradually form a batter. Verdict of this recipe? Very good! It’s soft and moist and fragrant. Definitely a keeper!

I bake around 20 mini cupcakes at a go and the batter doesn’t seem to have any problem leaving it outside for quite a while. I even squeeze in to bake a loaf of bread! While the breadmaker is kneading the dough, I weigh the ingredients, prepare the cupcake batter and when the kneading is complete, I start pre-heating the oven with the bread dough beside the oven for proofing. While I finish the first batch of cupcakes batter, it’s time to shape the dough for 2nd proofing then follow by preparing the 2nd round of cupcake batter and when I finish baking all the cupcakes, it’s time for the bread to go into the oven! I miss breadmaking so much and I felt so satisfied when cutting up the whole loaf. Compared to fancy bread, I actually prefer making white loaf which is the family staple food.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

