Simple Breakfast

Was suppose to publish this last week but I guess after all the baking, I got too tired then I told myself I will do it on Monday … Tues … Wed … Thurs and it’s Friday! Time really past by so fast, while Jan 08 was like just yesterday but we are counting toward Dec now which Christmas is coming! I’ve been doing a fair bit of looking around for Christmas stuff and by just looking at them, you just feel good about it! Thou I dun celebrate the festive as much, the thought of planning to bake cakes, cookies, decorate them, pack them pretty and giveaway is exciting enough. It’s time to bring out the cookie cutters, the sugar quins, pretty packaging!

I was chatting with my colleague one morning and she suggested that we do a little sandwich breakfast. I gladly contribute bread while she prepare the sandwich filling. So here I am with my contribution of white loaf and small sweet buns. It’s been a while since I do buns and while I refer back to my 1st trial making them, I had a good laugh cos they look ugly! I didn’t know how to shape them and had to rely on the paper case to keep them round. But after watching 孟老師 DVD on breadmaking, it really help to have a better idea on the proper way of shaping it. I actually enjoy touching bread dough more than cake batter!

I’ve been seeing a lot of white loaf recipe and kept wondering what is the difference, it’s a white loaf anyway. From the white loaf I made the other day, I finally realise the Hokkaido Milky Loaf yields a more chewy and dense texture. The other recipe I’ve been using has a lighter texture but it certainly take more time since it require the preparation of straight dough but I do like that texture better. So the journey to look for “that” white loaf is going to continue.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple Breakfast

  1. ida says:

    the small buns look so cute!

  2. reena says:

    Your bread looks great! Like your sweet buns, very round, very swee =)

  3. katherine says:

    hey elyn! thats a very beautiful loaf!!! i always hope i can make bread loafs that nice but somehow, they turn hard and dense the next day. is there anyway in solving this? i do not own a bread maker so i knead everything by hand =)

  4. Missy says:

    your pics here are so lovely! and the food seems so yummy!!

Leave a Reply

