Lemon Tea Cakes

lemon-tea-cake-02

It’s not very often that I made the same recipe twice, there are just too many to try out. But this is one that I will not hesitate to do it again and again when I am not in the adventurous mood, want something that is safe and good! I didn’t even bring out the mixer to do this, I merely use a manual whisk.

lemon-tea-cake-01

I bake this in a new silicone mould, I like the shape of the individual. The top was piped with some chocolate coating. I’m sharing this recipe here and hope you give it a try too!

Lemon Tea Cakes
85g flour
3g baking powder
30g unsalted butter
100g egg (about 2 eggs)
80g sugar
15g lemon juice
1 lemon zest
40g whipping cream (I use non-whipping)

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
2. Sift flour and baking powder.
3. Melt butter over hot water.
4. Whisk egg and sugar to light. Stir in whipping cream, lemon juice and zest.
5. Fold in flour gently and melted butter.
6. Pour batter on the pan filling 3/4 full.
7. Bake for 15-20 mins until golden brown.

Recipe adapted from 輕食小茶餅

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lemon Tea Cakes

  1. Fanny says:

    Wow, i love lemon. I will surely try this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Fanny says:

    But wait, where is the butter?

  3. Ange says:

    I just happen to have some lemons. Will give it a go this in the week. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Ange 🙂

  4. ida says:

    another cute creation from u. would love to try tis out when my lazy bug goes off. hehe

  5. ovenhaven says:

    I’ve been looking around for lemon cake recipes which aren’t too heavy, and I think this might just be it 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Elyn!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Fanny, thanks for highlighting!

    Hi Ange and Ovenhaven, it’s indeed a lovely recipe, hope you will like it.

    Hi Ida, *help to shoo away your lazy bug* must use then can justify the purchase of the silicone mould, right?

  7. touchofnectar says:

    Too cute!!!

  8. Jessica says:

    Hi Elyn
    where u bought ur silicone mould for this tea cake ? is it good to use ?

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Jessica, I bought the mould from an exhibition hall earlier this year. You could try Pantry Magic or Phoon Huat.

  10. EWong says:

    Hi, I was wondering whether this version of lemon tea cakes is moist or rather dry?
    I’ve baked lemon tea cakes, they are nice, but rather dry. when cooled, the crust hardens.

  11. Stephanie says:

    Hi Elyn, can I ask what flour did you use for this recipe? Thx.

Leave a Reply

