The essential – Butter

 

lurpak-butter

Butter prices have been going up exorbitantly, well … if only the stock market behaves like that, I’m sure a lot of people will be very happy! We used to pay S$2 plus for a block of  butter but now it’s S$3 plus for a normal brand and if you are looking for better quality, get ready to pay S$5.60 for a block of 250g. I was doing some calculation with my fren the other day, that a basic butter cake will probably cost something like S$8 after adding all other ingredients and the electricity. But for home bakers, I think most importantly is we know what goes in, it’s home-made with plenty of love!

Lurpak remains to be my favourite butter 🙂 I like the pure texture and doesn’t have the strong butter scent. I will always remember how crazy I am 2 years back that I stock up enough to last for a year?!  I was out shopping yesterday and was happy to see that NTUC is selling 2 blocks of Lurpak at S$9.15 which works out to be S$4.60 a block, it’s still expensive but that is a savings of S$1 a block and it’s almost the same price as SCS Butter. So which one would you choose? I’m not sure when the promotion end but I know I will stock up a couple of blocks more, the perfect companion for Chinese New Year Butter Cake and Pineapple Tarts!

On another note, this picture is taken with my phone which is 8MP, I’m happy with the quality and true-to-life color. It’s definitely handy when you want something quick and not go through the hassle of setting up a camera BUT nothing beats holding a real camera in the hand, guess certain things are best to it’s origin, just like a bread dough have to be knead, a cake have to be baked in an oven and not in microwave/rice cooker.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking ingredients. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The essential – Butter

  1. katherine says:

    i’ve heard alot bout this lurpak butter… is it really that good? so far i’ve been using scs or anchor butter and thought they both tasted fine. guess i should really try making pineapple tarts with lurpak one day =)

  2. Ching says:

    Hi Elyn. I’m also one of those crazy over lurpak. Usually use elle et vire for cakes and cookies and lurpak for buttercream. It’s the only butter that can give me a rich creamy texture without my mum complaining of the butter scent.

  3. Ange says:

    What a coincident …. I also bought 4 blocks of lurpak butter for my CNY bakes. Woolworths in Perth WA is selling 2 blocks for AUD $7.

    Ange

  4. Ange says:

    I also bought 4 blocks of Lurpak butter for my CNY bakes. Woolworths in Perth WA is selling 2 blocks for AUD $7.

    Ange

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Katherine, if you have no tried Lurpak, it’s a good chance to buy some now as there’s a promo. It’s a personal preference but personally I find that the butter is purer in taste.

    Hi Ching, haven try elle et vire yet! Will get a block and try one day. I tried making buttercream using anchor the other day and it din taste good, din came across to me that can use Lurpak, will try one day.

  6. Ching says:

    I find anchor seems to have gotten more ‘watery’. I’ve used it for buttercream (the local baking supply store ran out of elle et vire)but find the buttercream too thin and doesn’t have the pure butter fragrance. Aunty Y recommends bonlac. Ha ha, used the Lurpak as I was not prepare to make another journey to the store just to get bonlac. Turns out to be the best buttercream I’ve tasted so far!

Leave a Reply

