Bûche du Noël

Christmas Log Cake? Yule Log or Bûche du Noël? Bûche du Noël is a french term meaning the sponge cake is generally prepared, presented, and garnished so as to look like a log ready for the fire.

It’s the second year I’m preparing my own log cake. I was browsing thru the web for ideas and could not decide how it shld be. In the end, I remember someone told me before “Less is More” and I knew what I shld do.

yule-log-01

It’s a chocolate sponge cake filled with non-diary whipping cream and Valrhona Crunchy Pearls. I’ve been using Red Man Whipping Cream all these while but I wasn’t happy with the taste of it so I bought the Vivo Brand recently and knew that will be the right one! The taste of the cream is just like those what you usually get at the cake shop, it’s light and does not taste creamy too.

yule-log-02

The sides are covered with chocolate rasps and I piped chocolate over the top with small/big silver dragees. I have recently fell in love with these silver dragees, reason being I finally find those shiny ones and not the matt looking ones.

With this, it mark the closure of Christmas baking!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bûche du Noël

  1. ida says:

    the logcake looks very interesting and unique!

  2. ovenhaven says:

    What a great way to end your Christmas baking! The log cake looks perfect 🙂

    Hope you had a joyous Christmas with your loved ones, Elyn!

  3. gina says:

    Elyn, I use Tops brand which I got from Sun Lik for non dairy whipping cream. Its only $5 per litre pack. It is so much easier to whip it up with KA. In less than 3 mins(I actually timed it), it peaks perfectly. I like your yule log. I like it plain and white and simplicity of it makes it most appealing. Good job dear!

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, thanks 🙂 Din want to overcrowd the log cake with Xmas ornaments like last year.

    Hi Ovenhaven, thanks! Wish you a blessed new year ahead!

    Hi Gina, thanks, haven try Tops brand yet, will give it a try another day.

  5. Aimei says:

    I like your stained glass cookies and the simplicity of the log cake.

    Hope you had a great christmas and Happy new year to you! 😀

  6. gina says:

    oops, sorry, Elyn. My eyes half blind now. Its Toppins brand not Tops.

Leave a Reply

