Pinky Coconut Agar Agar

coconut-agar-agar-01

This is a childhood dessert that my mum makes whenever there is a special occassion. I have since took over the baking and dessert preparation role except the cooking which I do hope to pick up gradually. I have already miss the chance to pick up from my grandma her recipes and cooking skills.

I attempted this recipe once but couldn’t get the 2 layers effect, it became all mixed in one. It’s been a warm weekend and I didn’t want to waste a day not doing anything so with the fresh coconut milk in hand, thought it’s good to attempt the agar agar again. I’ve read several recipe book to make separate layers meaning wait for one layer to set before pouring the next but this didn’t require it this way. The trick here is to pour the coconut milk once the agar agar bubbles, then pour straight to the mould without stiring. The pictures are from the ramekin but I couldn’t get the same effect on the bigger Hello Kitty Mould. Talking about it, I really had a Merry Kitty Christmas this year, the Christmas gift I receive are all related to Hello Kitty, I’ve now a table light, a 2-layer lunch box, a bin and a solar activated toy to add to my collection!

I love how the coconut layer appears, with the little flakes around. For now, I’ll keep myself happy with this dessert!

coconut-agar-agar-02

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pinky Coconut Agar Agar

  1. That’s a really pretty dessert!

  2. ida says:

    love the dusky pink! thanks for the tips abt the coconut milk. 😉

  3. skinnymum says:

    never been a fan of coconut and agar-agar (prefer gelatine), but your pink beauty it simply stunnning, can’t help staring at it, while cooking it virtually….

  4. (( K@Y )) says:

    That’s pretty looking…

  5. Aimei says:

    I love this pink! So pretty! Happy New Year to you! 🙂

  6. chumpman says:

    Love the pink color a lot ! Instead of making cakes and chocolates, this will be a good attempt for Valentine’s Day too that I will make it with heartshape mould.

  7. wendyywy says:

    gosh! I think I’m the only weird one around trying to find out how to get the coconut milk not separated. How did u make the single layer then? Cos it was by chance that my mom made it that way 20 years ago, and could never do that again, cos she always makes sure the agar-agar boils up again(after the coconut) b4 she turns off the fire.
    I like it all mixed up instead.

  8. wendyywy says:

    Seriously, how did u make it all mixed up?? Waiting for the answer. Tx

  9. wendyywy says:

    I asked the question a month ago.. tx

  10. Elyn says:

    If you prefer all mix up, probably could try to stir when you add in the coconut milk?

  11. wendyywy says:

    Well, my mom stirs it everytime. It’s only when I add a bit of starch to my agar-agar, then only it doesn’t separate to 2 layers. Gosh, I think I need to experiment more. Hadn’t been making coconut agar-agar for a long time, since I couldn’t figure this out. Hmmm….

  12. prisca says:

    hihi, how did u get such light pink color?

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi Prisca, I use a tiny bit of the usual red coloring.

  14. prisca says:

    hi elyn, thanks, i managed to get the same effect, but somehow my coconut layer is thicker than the translucent one, do u have a receipe for the agar agar? thank you so much

  15. Elyn says:

    Hi Prisca, could it be too much coconut milk? I din tweak any proportion, merely following the recipe on the agar agar packet.

Leave a Reply

