Egg White Marble Cake

I love the Egg White Marble Cake by Caffe Pralet which it’s run by Creative Culinaire. The cakes and bread are freshly bake in the school just next to the Cafe. It’s a small, cosy place and they have some sofa seats by the window, facing the quiet Eng Hoon Road, leading to Tiong Bahru Market. Sounds good for a relaxing afternoon with some friends, one disadvantages thou it’s the location which is not near any MRT station.

It’s a healthy cake made with just egg whites, a good way to make full use of the left over egg whites from making Kueh Lapis which uses more egg yolks. The cake texture is light and really easy to eat, not greasy at all. Not really an angel food cake as this one contain more liquid ingredients which gives a softer texture. I enjoy attending Chef Judy Koh’s class, I admire the passion she have for culinary and her determination. She generously share her knowledge and her explanation are clear which makes it easier to understand.

egg-white-marble-cake

Back to the Egg White Marble Cake, to begin with I knew it’s not going to be an easy cake especially with the appearance of whipping up egg whites. I probably have whip up the best egg whites I ever encountered this afternoon, it’s firm and yet a little moist. Could tell the difference when I fold in the dry ingredients which is such a joy to do when the egg whites are beaten right, they hardly deflate during the folding stage. The mistake I make here is to open up the oven halfway to tent the cake and I could see the drop in height. So there will be more experiment to be done with the oven.

I’m not sharing the recipe here as I believe in supporting the chef for the effort she put in to concoct the recipe, the time she have taken to prepare the lesson. I felt Chef Judy’s lesson are reasonably price and the tips & tricks that she generously share during the lesson is valuable.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Egg White Marble Cake

  1. ida says:

    sure looks soft and moist!

  2. ovenhaven says:

    I totally agree with ida, the cake looks so soft!

    Here’s wishing you and your family a great 2009 ahead 🙂

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, thanks! Can’t wait to see yours too!

    Hi Ovenhaven, same you! Wishing you and yr family a wonderful year ahead!

Leave a Reply

