Green Pea Cookies

green-pea-cookies-01

I have seen these cookies springing up everywhere this new year and was tempted to give it a try, I was curious how the taste like. While it’s a refreshing change from the usual cookies but personally I don’t really like the texture of the cookie, it’s too crumbly and a little too sweet, the tartness taste of the green pea is quite strongly represented in it. I followed the recipe to the dot, the proportion of oil is pretty high which result the dough quite oily and as the proportion of ground green peas, flour and sugar is almost similar which also mean the weak structure of the cookie. The next time I’m trying this cookie will be to use those coated green peas and also increase the proportion of the flour.

green-pea-cookies-02

On a side note, I had a little helper today! My 5 years old nephew had great fun cutting out the cookies, I merely do the inital rolling out of the dough and he is responsible for cutting out the cookie, I will place in on the baking tray. I would say he did a fairly good job and is able to follow closely to instructions when I tell him not to cut close to the edge. Towards the end of the dough, I leave it to him to roll the dough (with the help of the rolling pin ring, it’s not a worry that he roll the dough too thick), cut out the cookies and finally putting it on the baking tray. He could also remember not to put the cookie too close to one another on the baking tray. And he actually like the cookies! He was helping himself to one after one when they are cooling on the rack, this is my biggest satisfaction!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Green Pea Cookies

  1. You Fei says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I was also looking out for a green pea recipe to do! Aunty yochana has 2 green pea recipes and i was deciding which to use..now..i have more choices! =p

    And yes, i can sense your satisfaction when you mentioned your nephew helping himself to the cookies. hehe

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Youfei, I suggest you give the other 2 recipes a try instead of this one. Yes … I thought it’s a good activity for the kids too, aside from watching TV.

  3. You Fei says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Hmm..thanks for your advice! But, after a brief comparison with aunty yochana’s and this one, i realised that aunty yochana’s one use more oil..hmm..

  4. MH says:

    There’s a typo error in fenying’s blog, already corrected.

Leave a Reply

