How many layers are there?

kuih-lapis-01

Finally! I have a Kuih Lapis that have many layers. I remember when I started baking, I never thought that I will be able to make Kuih Lapis, the tedious steps, the patience. After all these while, the baking process have taught me to slow down and be patient and also manage to do a proper egg white beating and folding in. The first time I try making it, I went to half the recipe but bake in a normal tin size (that was when I don’t have much baking experience!), and I got 4 layers in the end! I cut into half and stack them and had 8 layers! The 2nd time which is one year later, have a dryer texture and it wasn’t ideal. I was still hesitating if I should do it this year but I bought a tray of 30 eggs so no excuse not to try it again. I didn’t use recipes that call for 18 egg yolks, the one I’m using is 9 egg yolks to 6 egg whites for a 7″ square tin. I almost use my 8″ square tin which may have a shorter cake again, thanks to K who gave me the 7″ square tin 🙂 I manage to fill it all the way to the brim!

The entire process was really manageable. Right from creaming the butter to adding in egg yolks (I almost left out the egg yolks cos I left it on the other table but was wondering how come the batter look so little!), I added a good dose of vanilla extract, vanilla bean paste and a dash of rum! Whip up egg whites then finally combining together which is the most fearful part where the chances of deflating the egg white is highest, I scoop out a quarter of the egg white and added to the egg yolk/butter to lighten up the batter before putting them back to the egg white.

kuih-lapis-02

Next comes the grilling part which this round I use the highest setting and merely grill for 3 mins! I was happy with the grilling as the colors are quite obvious. I’m also happy with the texture which is more cake like, not as oily and buttery like those sold outside. Things that I would like to improve is how to get better even layer, as in straight line. Till next year again!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, CNY, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How many layers are there?

  1. You Fei says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Your kueh lapis looks fab too! You’re really really hardworking hahaha! Btw, how much spice do you use for your 7″ cake?

    I was jus wondering how to get a nice yellowish colour..mine is a little on the darker side.

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Youfei, ya .. I was surprise how much I churn out this year too! I use 1 tsp of the spice but thought could a bit more too but my family thought it’s just nice. The amount will also depend on the brand of spice you use. I saw yours too, I think it has to do very much with the proportion of the egg yolks and butter.

  3. Aimei says:

    Wow, I really pei fu ni to churn out so many goodies! They all look so good.

    Happy New Year to you!

  4. ida says:

    no need to wait till next yr… can i have one for my b’day? LOL… great looking lapis!

  5. ida says:

    GONG HEI FATT CHOY! may you be able to fulfill all your dreams in the coming year! all the best to you. 🙂

  6. ovenhaven says:

    Gong Xi Fa Cai! Hope you’ll enjoy a prosperous new year ahead 🙂

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Aimei, Happy New Year to you and your family too!

    Hi Ida … Kueh Lapis as birthday cake? hehehe … May your new year filled with wealth, happiness and prosperity!

    Hi Ovenhaven! May it be a better year for everyone!

  8. delia says:

    Elyn,
    you are very hardworking making kuih lapis. me, lazy bum only attempt to make san cha layer cake, the one which is steam. might try to make lapis after the new year as my eldest girl likes to eat kuih lapis.

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Delia, it’s not difficult. In between the grilling, I did the washing up and tidy up so when the cake is done, everything is also neat and clean! Give it a try!

  10. Nihar says:

    Hi Elyn
    Your kuih lapis looked perfect. I had tried baking them many times with no success, please share your recipe with me, thank.

Leave a Reply

