Celebration of blooms

kueh-bangkit-ii-02

After the first trial of Kueh Bangkit, K encourage me to do another trial again. What happen is K and me make a total of 4 trials using the same recipe but yield different result, she got it right or should I say even better result on her 2nd trial. I was really impress with the texture and so are my parents, they were telling me that it should be like that! I will try to describe as much as I could – the earlier KB I made is on a little crisp side, meaning you could bite into it, it still melt in the mouth and a little puffy. Hers is bake to perfect! The structure of KB is bake to form, you could lightly bite into it and it will break apart but yet it won’t crumble, it’s more compact inside yet not dry or hard and most importantly it melt in the mouth almost immediately when you pop inside the mouth! The earlier ones had to wait for a while before starting to melt. We have since modified the recipe through discussing our experience and troubleshooting where could have went wrong and how to enhance the flavour and both of us got it right on the 2nd attempt! She also encourage me to fry the flour and ensure me that it’s not messy so after getting the flour/pandan leaves on Monday, I finally did it! And it’s so true, it’s much neater and the stoves are fairly clean except for a few specks of flour around. And with all the so-call “technical” issues resolved, I’m sure this will definitely be on hers and mine bake list next  year!

kueh-bangkit-ii-01

K first got this mould first and it was really pretty when the KB was baked so she gave one to me as a gift! It’s so lovely that I use the same cutter throughout the 180 Kueh Bangkits I made today!

Update – this is the mould I’m using.

kueh-bangkit-mould

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Celebration of blooms

  1. Queen butter says:

    Hi,
    Really pretty.
    Can post a picture of the mould?

    Happy New Year.

  2. ida says:

    oh… u’re making me crave for some!

  3. Angela says:

    Fantastic KB Elyn.
    Here’s wising you all the very best for CNY.

    Angela

  4. Mima says:

    Nice bangkits, Elyn. Great idea using the cookie press.
    -mima-

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Queen Butter, I’ve update the mould pix. Happy New Year to you and your family too!

    Hi Ida … try, try!

    Hi Angela, thanks for your kind words 🙂

    Hi Mima, thanks 🙂

  6. Nix says:

    Hi, do you know where I can find that lovely mould? Thanks

  7. They are so pretty! Where on earth do you find the time and energy to bake so much?

  8. Queen butter says:

    hi,

    Silly me, I had the same mould but fail to recognise it, hee hee! I never thought of using it this way. Now, I have more reason to use it.

    Queen butter

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Laureen! Once you get the momentum start and with some planning, it’s achievable! I enjoy every baking day very much 🙂

  10. xan says:

    Hi Elyn

    Wishing you & your family a Happy & Prosperous Niu (Ox) Year!

    Beautiful bakes you have there 🙂

    rgds

  11. Elyn says:

    Hi Xan, thanks for dropping by! Happy New Year to you & your family too!

  12. shyan says:

    Hi Elyn, happy new year! Your kuek bangkit is very beautiful.

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi Shyan, thanks very much for the kind words! Happy New Year to you and your family too!

  14. Suzy says:

    Wow! Very pretty biscuits. I would like to try baking the cookies too. Do you know where I can find the mould? Thank you.

  15. Edith says:

    Oh these are so pretty. My batch failed the test taste. Mom said it doesn’t have the melt in the mouth texture. Little princess was eagerly eating them coz she was the one who helped me to cut the cookies. hahahaha

    Have a Ox picious new year.

    Catch up with you sometime later.

  16. Elyn says:

    Hi Nix and Suzy, I got the mould from Lee Bee but that was the last piece then, not sure if got new stock.

    Hi Edith, keep trying! I don’t like KB but this year couldn’t help popping them, feel like making another batch cos it’s running out.

  17. reena says:

    I made some KB this year (finally) and they are also a little crisp on the outside but melt in the mouth when you bite into it. I halved the recipe and have another half fried tapioca flour sitting in the fridge. Wasn’t sure I want to bake KB again but after seeing your post, I’m motivated to give it another try.

  18. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    beautiful KB you have there. the designs are very sharp.

  19. Elyn says:

    Hi Delia, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

