Mixed Fruits Cupcake

mixed-fruits-cupcake-01

I guess I got bitten by a bug – lazy bug! I have been telling myself that I should bake something this weekend but having the whole week I just couldn’t decide what to bake and when I set to bake some cornmeal cookies and muffins, I couldn’t get cornmeal in PH. I almost did not heat up the oven again till a call I had with a customer, she casually mention that I’ve not been baking much recently and it just ring a bell to me instantly that I really should not let the lazy bug have her way. So I pick up a cupcake recipe from the 500 muffins and cupcakes book – Rum and Raisins Cupcake. The raisins are suppose to be soak in rum for 2 to 3 hours or overnite but all I have is a bottle of mixed fruits soaked in rum for months.

mixed-fruits-cupcake-02

This is definitely a no-fail recipe and yield satisfying result. The cupcake is light yet remain moist inside! The black specks you seen here is vanilla bean paste, it adds a nice fragrance to the texture. With the addition of rum, you could smell the sudden rush of liquor when you bite into the cupcake which my colleague love it.

You need :
113g butter
113g sugar (Could cut down to 90g)
113g self-raising flour (could replace with 110g of plain flour + 1 tsp baking powder)
1/2 tsp double-acting baking powder
2 eggs (beaten egg)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp rum
40g mixed fruits (I added lots more)

What to do :
The original recipe call to mix everything in together and bake for 20 mins at 175 degrees. I wasn’t comfortable with this method so I went back to the good old original way of creaming.

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees
2. Cream butter and sugar till creamy and pale in color.
3. Add in vanilla essence and beaten egg bit by bit and mix well.
4. Set aside some flour to coat the mixed fruits. Fold in sifted flour and baking powder.
5. Spoon to muffin cases and bake at 175 degrees for 20 mins.

Recipe adapted from 500 muffins and cupakes

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mixed Fruits Cupcake

  1. Liew says:

    hi, can i substitute with 2 tbsp of brandy instead of rum?

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Liew, yes you can!

  3. Chris says:

    Would baking powder works for this or must use double action baking powder?

Leave a Reply

