Waffles

waffles-01

Have been looking around for a waffle maker to prepare home-made waffles for the little boy. Saw the round shape type by Philips, the heart shape one by Takada at S$29.90 but what really hold me back is if it will turn into another white elephant just like the sandwich toaster! I thought I could have some lovely sandwiches with the help of the sandwich toaster but till today I am not convince that it really does the job. I was at Carrefour today and saw the Bluesky Waffle Maker going for S$15.90 (promo period) so it’s an offer too good to be miss!

Was looking around for a waffle recipe and saw many variations available (just like any other recipe) and caught the simplest one by fenying. The waffle is pretty good when it’s hot but the texture get a little tough when it’s cold. As for the waffle maker, except that it doesn’t brown evenly, I do not have complaints, it’s work pretty fast that you get a ready waffle within 3 mins! Would say it’s a good buy 😛

waffles-02

Waffles
2 eggs
100g sugar
125g milk
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
150g self-raising flour
25g melted butter

Method:
1. Mix eggs and sugar, stir till sugar dissolves
2. Add milk and vanilla essence and mix well
3. Add self-raising flour mix well
4. Add melted butter mix well
5. Grease and heat the waffle iron. Pour in a suitable amount of batter. Close the iron and bake until both sides are golden brown.

Note : I replace the coconut milk with fresh milk and also substituted the vanilla oil with vanilla essence from the original recipe.

Makes 4 slices

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Waffles

  1. ida says:

    yum yum! will be awesome with some vanilla ice-cream!

  2. Thanks for sharing and i’m really excited about it. This seems to be a good buy from Carrefour. I’ll like to go there to get one, as I’m looking for a waffles maker too and unwilling to pay too much for it.

  3. Wanna says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Nice waffles! I ordered mooncake mould from you last year! Saw you newly aquired machine and thought I will recommend this recipe. Very good, though abit more work! Worth the effort!

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Emmas-Belgian-Waffles/Detail.aspx

  4. ovenhaven says:

    The waffles look really fluffy! I have the same heart-shaped waffle as you, and even though I don’t use it as often as I would have loved, it never fails to cheer up my morning when I have a lovely shaped waffle 🙂

  5. Tiffany says:

    Hi there!

    I am very interested in buying the waffle maker too. May I know when does the promo end? Thanks!

  6. Elyse says:

    Waffles are some of my favorite things! Your waffles look particularly delicious (and festive). I’m saving this recipe!!

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, vanilla ice-cream with melted chocolate?!

    Hi Art of Eating! I also felt it’s a good buy and it work well too!

    Hi Wanna! Hope you enjoy using the mould. Thanks for the recommendatiion! I will check out the recipe 🙂

    Hi Ovenhaven, you’re so right about having a lovely shape waffle in the morning 🙂

    Hi Tiffany, sorry I’m not sure when the promo end.

    Hi Elyse, hope you like the recipe. Will share more of it when I’ve tried others too!

  8. These waffles look sooo good! My kids love waffles, I’m so tempted to get the waffle maker 🙂

  9. Sihan says:

    i love waffles! and after looking at your post. am more or less convinced that I should get one too! But I would like a round shaped one though, with deeper indentations for a thicker waffle. Any idea where I can get one?

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, felt it’s a worthy buy 🙂 Hope to see yours soon!

    Hi Sihan, are you refering to those commercial like? I think you can try Sia Huat (www.siahuat.com).

  11. Finally i got mine yesterday at S$17.90 @ Carrerfour, though the promotion is over. It’s still a good buy after all.

  12. Elyn says:

    Hi! oh .. the price went up slightly higher? Hope to see your waffles soon!

  13. Sherie says:

    Hey Elyn,

    What a coincidence!

    I was considering about the waffle maker too, BlueSky as well since the boys love waffles 🙂

    So after a week of ‘consideration’ – not sure how the BlueSky waffle maker will fare since i’ve never read any raves on it- , when i thought of getting it, promo was over. Lol.

    Anyhoo, thanks for your review!

    The next time when i see it on promo again, i will not hesitate to get it anymore 😉

  14. 3rsvan says:

    Ya, I saw the promo of the waffle maker from Carrerfour leaflet yesterday and I’m tempted to buy also. I do have the same concern, White elephant….. but I have children at home, just wondering if I will be active enough to make waffle for them often.

  15. Jessica says:

    Hi Elyn, I also bought the waffle maker at Carrefour.. will try out making the waffle for my boy this weekend.

  16. Recipe man says:

    mmmm waffles.
    i love these! heartshaped and i like maple too

    thanks

  17. Yan Chun Tong says:

    I have been using the Blue Sky waffle maker for a couple of years now.
    In between, not more than 10 times.
    The warranty is over and the non stick teflon coating is flaking off….really worried what those tiny specks of teflon will do to our health.
    If not for the poor teflon coating, it’s a great machine….very good for a sunday breakfast when the whole family can enjoy chatting while waiting for the freshly baked waffles, which come reasonably fast.
    Checkout today’s Strait Times, I thought I saw an advert that Giant is offering Takada brand for S$19.90…..will be checking out the quality of the coating for sure.

  18. Yan Chun Tong says:

    Hi All,
    I have just returned from Carrefour with a new ..yes you’ve guessed it.. Blue Sky waffle maker ..and yes I did check out the Takada too.
    So take my word for it…it will be no white elephant….and this for this piece I shall clean it with a feather duster!

  19. Jessica says:

    hi Yan Chun Tong ..
    so Bluesky one is better than the Takada ?

  20. Jessica says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Oh I made my waffles yesterday morning.. and it taste great…. my son enjoy it.. Thanks for ur recommendation. btw how do u clean / wash ur waffle maker after using ?? thanks

    regards,
    Jessica

  21. Carine says:

    Hi, I just stumbled upon your blog after googling for waffle machines from Carrefoure.

    I went to Carrefoure (Suntec) yesterday and bought the Bluesky Waffle Maker. They were going for even lower price at only S$9.90!! There are still a lot left.

  22. Aimei says:

    i have had this waffle maker but seldom use it cos’ I find that the imprint is not that deep. But I tried your recpe and I realy like this it!

  23. Yan Chun Tong says:

    Hi Jessica,
    No, I’m not saying that Bluesky has a better coating than Takada, because I’m no expert on teflon. IMHO, they are both equally bad compared to coating of my rice cooker, which I’ve been using twice a day for years. However, the Bluesky seems a little heavier and will be more stable on the table.
    Guess what……I’ve just returned from Carrefour with yet another Bluesky waffle maker. At $9.90 its a steal, but the painful thing is…the last piece purchased, was $19.90…barely a month ago ouch!. Hope my daughter will like it.

  24. I bought mine at $9.90 too, less 10% for Everyday card member. Can’t wait to try it!

  25. Hi Jessica,
    I have a penguin waffle maker and I just clean it with damped cloth after each use.

  26. Irene Low says:

    Hi Elyn
    After using this Bluesky Waffle Maker, do you notice that it sticks? I have conditioned the plates each time I use…but the waffle kind of stick to the upper side of the plates. Any idea why?

    Thanks

  27. Audrey says:

    I also wonder why after a few successful rounds, my Bluesky waffle maker now sticks. I can’t find my manual so I don’t know what’s wrong.

  28. Yan Chun Tong says:

    Hi all,

    For the sticking problem, may I suggest you try adding an extra tablespoon of cooking oil.

Leave a Reply

