Strawberry Muffins

strawberry-muffins-01

Punnets of Korea Strawberries are springing up everywhere! Not only they are more affordable, they are more fragrant and sweeter too! Despite I don’t have a liking for strawberries, I could not help add a punnet when I do the round of groceries shopping. I enjoy going to supermarket, bookshops than shopping malls, probably because I shop online more often. 

strawberry-muffins-02

Back to the strawberry muffins. I wasn’t keen to do muffins because of the texture but on the other hand I wasn’t ready to bring out the mixer and a lot of utensils to do a cake/cupcakes too! Did a search and saw rave reviews of this recipe which I did not regret attempting it. The texture isn’t the dry kind and resemble more to a cupcake texture, it’s soft and fluffy inside. The strawberries pieces didn’t turn mushy inside. However I find the taste a little too bland, could have added a little more sugar to compensate for the sourness of the strawberries and also vanilla essence. I read through some of the comments and saw some adding cinnamon (which I forgot I have it in my pantry) for better flavour.

Ingredients :
45 ml canola oil
90 ml milk
3/4 egg
2 g salt
7 g baking powder
75 g caster sugar
165 g cake flour (originally plain flour)
115 g chopped strawberries
1/2 tsp vanilla essence (I added this) 

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees C and oil an 8 cup muffin tin, or use paper liners.
2. In a small bowl, combine oil, milk, and egg. Beat lightly.
3. In a large bowl, mix flour, salt, baking powder and sugar. Toss in chopped strawberries and stir to coat with flour. 4. Pour in milk mixture and stir together.
5. Fill muffin cups. Bake at 190 degrees C for 25 minutes, or until the tops bounce back from the touch. Cool 10 minutes and remove from pans.

Adapted from All Recipes

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Strawberry Muffins

  1. Elyse says:

    These muffins look delicious! I love that strawberries are coming into season everywhere. That’s the true sign of spring!! I’m saving this muffin recipe; it looks so good!

  2. Cookie says:

    Hey, this looks good… I baked using dried strawberries but looking at yours, I am tempted to try with fresh strawberries too!

  3. Min says:

    Hey, I bought Korean strawberries also from supermarket few days back, they are sweet compared with those local ones. Will find one day to try out this recipe 🙂

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Elyse, hope you will like the recipe too!

    Hi Cookie! Dried strawberries? Where do you get them? How does it taste like?

    Hi Min, hope you will like this recipe!

  5. Cookie says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I got the dried strawberry from Nature Farm, a store selling health supplements.

    You can see the package here http://happycup.blogspot.com/2009/01/strawberry-shortcake.html

    It taste sweet (though it says no sugar added)… somewhat like raisins 🙂

    Cheers.

  6. ovenhaven says:

    Oh this looks really good! I had strawberries a while back, but before I could even come up with anything to bake, they were already gone from the fridge 😛

    Maybe I should get myself a punnet this weekend, and try this out 🙂

  7. Look so tempting ! Will put it in my to do list. Now that korea strawberry is going at a affortable price. In fact i have a punnet in my fridge now.

  8. chumpman says:

    Beautiful muffins ! I love cakes, cookies, breads, just I am too coward to try baking yet. Going to make my first cake with rice cooker soon, a rose cake with strawberries.

Leave a Reply

