Pandan Chiffon Cake

pandan-chiffon-cake-01

I do get a little excited when I am ready to cut a chiffon cake. While the skewer will tell whether the cake is ready but at times it’s not that accurate. I didn’t have expectation when I start baking this Pandan Chiffon Cake, it’s been a good few months since I last bake one. The oven temperature is always a problem for me so this round I start preheating my oven at 200 degrees, bring down to 190 degrees and bake for 10 mins which see the cake steadily rise up and further bring down to 180 degrees for another 20 mins. Do note there is a variation of 10-20 degrees on my oven comparing to using an oven thermometer. I was very delighted to see a beautiful brown crust form outside, somehow my chiffon doesn’t have a crust before and I read that it’s probably the oven temperture wasn’t high enough.

pandan-chiffon-cake-02

The cake collapse only slightly like 5% which is a tell tale that I didn’t deflate much of the air bubbles when I fold in. One of the way to fold in the egg yolk/oil mixture into the egg white especially when you got worry that you overfold which in turn deflate the bubbles is to bring 1/4 of the egg white mixture to the egg yolk mixture and “lighten” it. By doing so, not only it will be easier to combine the egg yolk mixture into the balance of egg white cos it’s lighter now and also even if you deflate any air bubbles, it’s the 1/4 of the egg white that deflate the most. 

The formation of the honeycomb on the chiffon cake will tell whether it is properly bake and rise. This recipe I’m using have a lower proportion of the flour which makes the cake really soft and fluffy so I shall increase the proportion of flour higher to have a sturdier texture.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pandan Chiffon Cake

  1. Elyse says:

    I think your chiffon looks excellent! I certainly wouldn’t turn down a slice 🙂

  2. ovenhaven says:

    You’ve captured the texture perfectly! Even with all the fancy cakes out there, I can never turn down a pandan chiffon 😛

  3. sue says:

    hi there, lovely pandan chiffon cake one of my fav. Do u mind sharing the recipe pls. cheers.

  4. ida says:

    beautiful and tall chiffon!

  5. What a perfect pandan chiffon cake!

  6. Cookie says:

    Another great bake! And thanks for sharing the trick on folding!

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Elyse, thanks for your kind words 🙂 It’s so encouraging!

    Hi ovenhaven, so true! Chiffon is my family’s favourite too!

    Hi Ida! Thanks, this is one of the most satisfactory trial!

    HI SH, Thanks 🙂 I hope I am able to resolve the top crack problem one day!

    Hi Cookie, you’re most welcome 🙂

  8. Che-Cheh says:

    Wow look perfect. The texture is really nice.

  9. wendyywy says:

    Hi,
    I tried baking pandan chiffon cake with and without baking powder. Not only once but few times with and w/o.
    It seems that baking w/o baking powder will make the cake softer and the one with b/p is sturdier, as in being less fragile.
    Ur recipe is not stated here, therefore I do not know whether what I’ve said here is relevant to u.

Leave a Reply

