Chiffon Cake Tools

Baking the perfect chiffon cake have always been on my to-do list. In my opinion, the chiffon should be :

1) No crack on top! I know it’s something common using table-top oven which I’ve tried covering the top with rack + silicone baking sheet, I am still experimenting with not using that and controlling the oven temperature by starting off at a higher temperature, bring down 10 degrees after 10 mins and it does help, at least I don’t have a volcano eruption!  I’ve also tried covering directly on top of the cake but I thought it result the top part does not rise fully and is slightly condensed.

crack-top-chiffon

2) Rise high – I read that the chiffon should not drop below the brim of the mould?  Which also derive that not many air bubbles deflate. At least I pass this 🙂

cooled-chiffon

3) Honeycomb look – I’ve tried a couple recipe but realise not every of them gives you that texture, some tend to be more moist and isn’t that soft and fluffy which isn’t a bad idea cos it won’t taste as dry. What I have bake so far are still edible so I manage a just pass!

coffee-chiffon

4) The crust & the mould – different mould material will give different crust too?! I realise those aluminium mould seem to be able to give the chiffon a nice, brown crust whilst the one I’m using is more of a smooth material and I’ve not been able to get the nice, brown cust. I also read rave reviews of using those Japan chiffon moulds, some actually said the chiffon tend to rise higher compare to the nomral mould, I guess it’s the way the heat is conduct through the material. 

I’ve seen many Japanese food bloggers using a heart shape chiffon mould which got me really interested that send me calling overseas shop to hunt it down! The effort and long wait have finally been paid off, I’m getting it! Have decided on a 7″, think this size is just good for small family, I would say it’s very costly as a baking mould but this is the time when I describe ~ love is blind!

 

 htsf

The other thing which I really look forward to get it is a chiffon cake knife, The other thing is even if I’ve use a slim knife to slice through the cake, I always end up slicing some crust off and worst still scratch the surface of the mould! The sound of the knife running against the mould actually make me wanna pull my hair out too! I have already make a reservation for this and after reading user reviews, it does help to remove and not destroy the cake/mould when removing the chiffon. Will give an update once I’ve laid my hand on this.

chifon_knife

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chiffon Cake Tools

  1. Elyse says:

    I think your chiffon turned out really well. I want one of those special chiffon cake knives! I didn’t even know they existed…you’ve just turned me onto another kitchen gadget that I “need.”

  2. Rei says:

    Elyn! I want I want~~ 😀

  3. Elyn
    You think this scrapper can scrape the chiffon off a regular pan easily? If yes, I want too!!

Leave a Reply

