Condensed Milk Pound Cake

Condensed Milk Pound Cake 03

Ida was telling me this condensed milk pound cake is really good and how much she like it so despite baking a marble pound cake just last weekend from my newly purchase recipe book that is solely on Pound Cake, I went ahead and grab a can of condensed milk for this. I will post the marble cake recipe later as I don’t have the recipe on hand, that one has the additional of fresh milk inside.

However I overlook at the procedure, I assume that it’s the normal creaming -> eggs -> flour process but this recipe actually call to add in the eggs last so I’m not sure if there is any difference. I will sure give this recipe another try with the stated procedure. So back to this condensed milk pound cake,  the batter is beautifully smooth even after adding the cake flour but I thought the condensed milk scent is fairly strong.

Condensed Milk Pound Cake 02

Instead of using a normal pound cake tin which I thought mine is a little big and always end up with a short cake yet at the same time I wasn’t prepare to increase the proportion so I brought out some new silicone moulds that I bought during my recent trip. I got them in 2 shapes – rectangular and square, I was attracted by the ridges around 🙂 I put the batter in 10 small silicone moulds and bake for a good 35 mins.

Condensed Milk Pound Cake 04

What you need
120gm good quality butter
45gm sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup condensed milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla paste
120gm cake flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs
What to do
Sift cake flour and baking powder tog. Set aside.
Cream butter and sugar tog till light and fluffy.
Add in salt and vanilla paste and cream well.
Pour in condensed milk and cream till well combined.
Using the mixer on low speed, add in flour in 3 additions. Mix till batter is smooth.
Add in eggs one at a time. Make sure it’s well mixed and smooth.
Bake at 175 degrees for 1 hour.

The cake texture is fine and dense,  but despite following Ida’s portion of reducing the sugar by 10g from the original recipe, I still find it a little too sweet and the condensed milk taste is definitely noticeable so if you are a fan of condensed milk, then this is a must try recipe. For my next trial, I could probably try 80% condensed milk and 20% milk with the same amount of sugar, using the “right” procedure. Hm .. sound like a chemist in a lab?

What you need
120gm good quality butter
45gm sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup condensed milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste/extract
120gm cake flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs

What to do
1. Sift cake flour, baking powder and salt together. Set aside.
2. Cream butter and sugar together till light and fluffy.
3. Add in vanilla paste and cream well.
4. Pour in condensed milk and cream till well combined.
5. Using the mixer on low speed, add in flour in 3 additions. Mix till batter is smooth.
6. Add in eggs one at a time. Make sure it’s well mixed and smooth.
7. Bake at 175 degrees for 1 hour.

Recipe originated from Pichet Ong’s The Sweet Spot, shared by Anne

Condensed Milk Pound Cake 01

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Condensed Milk Pound Cake

  1. ida says:

    yay! u did it… hm, the sweetness to me was just right. and i tot u’re the one wif a sweet tooth? LOL

  2. Carine says:

    I made a sweetened condensed milk cake a week ago. You can see my version there: http://carine-olivia.com/blog/index.php/2009/05/sweetened-condensed-milk-cake/

    I didn’t use sugar in mine as the condensed milk is sweet enough. I even reduced the amount of condensed milk by quite a bit from the original recipe.

    Yeah it’s a dense cake but I just love the simple taste of the condensed milk 🙂

  3. Recipe man says:

    wow this looks so good. i ove the combinations of tastes and condensed milk.. well.. need i say more

    YUM!

  4. Elyse says:

    Mmm, this poundcake looks and sounds delicious. I just love what sweetened condensed milk does for baked goods. Man oh man, I’d love a slice of this! Sorry that I’ve been an absent commenter; I just finished up my law school exams and am finally getting around to my google reader.

  5. Missy says:

    wow this loosk good. im gona try!!!

  6. rei says:

    Hi Elyn, I have tried reducing the sugar to 20g in my other attempt. Perhaps you would like to give it a try too. 🙂

  7. lexi says:

    this looks amazing! hope it tastes as good! i am definitly going to make it 🙂

  8. Samantha says:

    Hi, I have tried this recipe but from other website,
    the cake is nice but the next day it turn sour.

    anyone experienced it? or i’m the only one?

  9. Tran says:

    I can’t convert 1/2 cup condensed milk to ml. Could you help me, please. I don’t have cup tool. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

