Heritage Bundt Cake

We’re stepping into the month of June! Half of the Year 2009 is gone, just like that! It’s been a fruitful, busy 6 months but I would love to bake more when time permit,  I wonder if it’s time to readjust my schedule? I totally miss making bread and I’ve gotten a pack of Japanese Bread Flour recently, waiting for me to do the opening ceremony, I can’t wait to see the end result using another type of flour.

Heritage Bundt Pan 01

Dear fren help to hand carry this beautiful bundt pan from US, I saw this Bundt pan quite sometime back but they don’t ship overseas and loving it is one thing, owning it is another thing. So when she ask if I want anything, I can’t think of anything in mind except this bundt pan.

Heritage Bundt Pan 02

Bundt® is the American name for a German coffee cake that is traditionally baked in an elaborate mold with a center tube. The dramatic swirling shape captures the vintage style of the original Bundt pan from 1950. Made of durable cast aluminum, weighing 890gm, it features a center tube that ensures even baking. William Sonoma’s premium Goldtouch™ nonstick coating provides effortless release and cleanup.

Heritage Bundt Cake 01

I love the swirl pattern on the pan, it’s just so clean and neat! The bundt pan came together with a recipe by Williams-Sonoma kitchen which I gladly use it since I’ve had no problem using his recipe so far.

Heritage Bundt Cake 02

After baking these few years, I’m still very skeptical baking big cakes, no confidence with my microwave-convention oven!  I am still haunted by the uncook inside from my last oven 😛 But I tell myself that that should not deter me from using this pan – at least once! The recipe calls for 250g butter, 4 eggs, almost half a kg of flour and I’m glad I cut the sugar down 50g, the sweetness came out just nice and uisng Lurpark gives the cake a nice, rich yet subtle fragrant and taste. I will stock up Lurpak as and when there is an offer, it’s an important ingredient when it comes to butter cake, at least to me.  I added a tsp of vanilla bean paste which I felt I shld have added more! I baked it for a good 45 mins and out came a beautiful cake with a nice, brown cast!

Heritage Bundt Cake 03

Heritage Bundt Cake
Ingredients :
440g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
250g unsalted butter
375g caster sugar (I use 325g)
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 tsp vanilla extract (I use vanilla bean paste)
250ml milk

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees, grease and flour the pan and tap out the excess flour.
2. Sift flour, baking powder and salt together.
3. Cream butter on medium speed until creamy and smooth, about 30 seconds.
4. Add the sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, about 5 mins.
5. Scrape down the sides occassionally.
6. Add eggs a little at a time, beating well after each addition.
7. Beat in the vanilla just until incorporated, about 1 min.
8. Reduce the speed to low and add the flour in 3 additions, alternating with milk and ending with the flour.
9. Beat each addition just until incorporated, scrape down the sides occassionally.
10. Spoon batter into the prepared pan and bake for 55 to 60 mins.
11. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool for 15 mins.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tools, Butter Cakes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Heritage Bundt Cake

  1. Mima says:

    Wah! Elyn, that’s a very nice bundt cake pan u have. Wish i had one like that too!

  2. xan says:

    Hi Elyn – this is the expensive pan u were telling me about? i fell in love with it when i saw it at Lucy’s blog. hmmm… wonder who else is going to US? 🙂 can u do a rainbow butter cake? i’m sure it will come out pretty.

  3. Angela says:

    Fab looking cake Elyn. Now I have to get my hands on one. 🙂

  4. ida says:

    i’m salivating over yr cake mold!

  5. Caroline says:

    Wow! I wish to have one too! The cake is so beautiful after using it!

  6. ovenhaven says:

    This looks absolutely stunning! I love how perfectly distinct the swirls are 🙂

  7. That pan is beautiful!!

  8. Recipe man says:

    yum! this looks so beautiful.
    i love the way u presented it

    thanks

  9. Che-Cheh says:

    The heritage bundt pan just blew me away. So pretty! The outcome looks awesome. How do you slice this kind of cake? 😛

    I have a new bundt pan made of silicone. Looking for a recipe & I think I will try yours here.

  10. familyfirst says:

    Seen some bundt pans locally and boy, are they huge & heavy! This design is really really nice!

  11. That is just gorgeous! I can never get my bundt cakes to come out of the oven in one piece.

  12. Whoops, I meant come out of the pan in one piece.

  13. Carine says:

    This looks lovely!! I’ve never eaten Heritage Bundt Cake before …

  14. Wow, your bundt pan is just beautiful! May I ask, which part of the US did your friend get it from?

  15. Pauline says:

    Pls. may I know the online store where you saw this Bundt cake pan. Thought of asking my son to order one for me. Thanks. Your cake look gorgeous. Thought of getting hold of the mould to bake the cake to impress my family.

  16. Elyn says:

    Hi Mima, pigpigscorner, recipeman & familyfirst indeed it’s a very nice cake pan 🙂

    Hi Xan, yes .. this is the one I told u.

    Hi Angela, you could order yours from williams-sonoma website.

    Hi Ida, get one!!

    Hi Caroline, yes .. the cake pan certainly play a big part.

    Hi ovenhaven, same here! I was attracted to the swirls.

    Hi Che-Cheh, I just slice across but it don’t really look good once it’s slice up.

    Hi Laureen, give the bundt pan a good grease and flour it.

    Hi Carine, give the recipe a try!

    Hi Pauline, I got the cake pan from Williams Sonoma.

  17. Pauline says:

    Thanks for the info

  18. sara says:

    Hi .. I gotten this bundt pan through a friend in Australia and triend baking a cake using your recipe. Just want to double check with you on the oven temperature. I have followed the mentioned degree ie 150 deg C and bake for 55 to 60mins. After 60 mins, the cake is still not cooked. I set another 30 minutes.. Is the temperature stated on the recipe accurate. I have check other bundt cake recipe and it calls for 160deg C. Appreciate your reply. P.S Cake is still in the oven. Hope it turns out ok.

  19. Amna says:

    Can I use this pan (that I have exactly the same one) for chiffon cake ? Since chiffon cake pan shoulndt be greased and A knife has to be run through after cooling process is done!

    • Elyn says:

      Hi Anna, I’m afraid you can’t use this bundt pan cos the design may be too complicating for the cake to “climb”. It may not look greased but this isnt normal aluminium material that the Chiffon tin is.

Leave a Reply

