Stir n Bake Apple Cake

Apple-Cake-01

I bought Kevin Chai – Stir n Bake book  sometime back as I have a 20% Popular Discount Voucher to utilise – just another perfect excuse to buy more books to load the almost breaking book shelf! I wasn’t expecting much from the stir n bake book as somehow I had the impression they don’t taste like real cake but as I was nursing a muscle strain on my back this weekend yet I do not want to miss a weekend bake session, I decide to pick a recipe from this book.

Looking at what I have in my pantry – apples? Yes .. actually one that is going into the dustbin soon if it’s not eaten. Cinnamon? yes … unopen bottle bought sometime back, at the point of time thinking I WILL be using it soon! Raisins? Also yes! It took me around 15 mins to get all things ready and send it to the oven. The aroma of the cinnamon filled the whole kitchen when it’s baking and I begin to believe it will taste good!

Apple-Cake-02

The cake is wonderful! I sliced the apples into strips and there are also raisins inside, I believe the addition of walnut will taste good too! The cake is moist and soft, with a tinge of cinnamon – my mum was happy for a change from chiffon 😛 I am happy with the cake that I immediately went to make a 2nd loaf to bring back to office! I think this will make a welcoming party treat too! Something quick to whip, taste good and presentable!

Ingredients :
100g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
100g caster sugar
80ml corn oil
130g apple (shredded) *about 1 apple, I slice into strips
40g raisins

Method
1. Grease a mould and preheat to 175 degrees.
2. Sieve plain flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon powder and salt in a mixing bowl.
3.  Whisk eggs and sugar well before adding oil.
4. Stir into flour mixture with apple strips and raisins until well blended.
5. Pour mixture into mould and bake for 35-40 mins. Stand for 10 mins before turning on wire rack to cool.

Notes :
– Depending on individual, most pple who tried the cake find the sweetness is just nice.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Stir n Bake Apple Cake

  1. skinnymum says:

    i have the book but yet to try any of the recipes yet. was it very sweet? did you reduce the sugar?

  2. LCLim says:

    Omg ur stir n bake apple cake looks very delicious n nice. surprising stirring can make the cake so fluffy. Can u share the recipe pls.

  3. Mui Mui says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Nice bake. 🙂 You use red or green apples? i have some red apples to finish off and thought may be can use it on this. Can share recipe?

    Thanks
    Mui Mui

  4. Pauline says:

    Hope your back is better now

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Celine, the sweetness is okay. I didn’t reduce sugar.

    Hi LC, have update with the recipe.

    Hi Muimui, I used red apples.

    Hi Pauline, thanks for concern, guess will take some time to recover 🙂

  6. Margaret Ong says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Try to sleep on hard mattress suitable for back ache. Take care. I am happy that I succeeded doing the heart shaped tin. This time it comes out nice. Thks for the tips.

  7. LCLim says:

    Hi thank you very much for sharing the recipe. Will try these few days cos quite busy. Thanks again

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Margaret, thanks so much for your tips! Will give it a try. Glad to know you’ve success with your heart shape chiffon cake 🙂

    Hi LC, you’re welcome 🙂

  9. Mui Mui says:

    Thanks Elyn for sharing the recipe. Will attempt it today if I can find time.

  10. Mui Mui says:

    Elyn,

    I’ve baked the cake this afternoon. It is super yummy. I reduce the sugar by 30g, used cake flour and brown sugar. Added a dash of nutmeg powder too. Good! Gotta go for low sugar since my MIL is diabetic. Thanks again. 🙂

  11. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    hope you are getting better now. tried your recipe and it came out very soft and moist. really good. now can get my daughter to eat fruit without her knowledge.

  12. Mui Mui says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Can clarify “whisk eggs and sugar well” means to whisk till bit fluffy and till sugar melts? or just whisk till well mixed will do? ‘Cos my cake seems to have oil “oozing” out on the 2nd day. Normal?

    Rgds,
    Mui Mui

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi Delia, thanks! I was trying not to take medicine but in the end 2 tablets of muscle relaxants work! Glad you like the recipe.

    Hi Mui Mui, no … I din whisk till fluffy or the sugar melt, only till the mixture is well combine. Nope, I don’t have the problem of oil oozing well, not sure if it’s becos the oil is not combine well?

  14. Joyce says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I tried this recipe last nite and failed terribly! The cake was brown, nothing compared to yours. And there was the “iron” taste… Maybe cos I “overbeat” the eggs & sugar??

  15. Elyn says:

    Hi Joyce, could you please drop me an email baking_joy@yahoo.com.sg and in detail what went wrong e.g. texture not cook etc.

  16. delia says:

    hi Elyn, did you try the sweet corn and currant cake from the same book? it’s nice. next i’m going to try pumpkin cake. u know, i couldn’t find the book here as it’s out of stock but luckily i managed to get it straight from the publisher. i searched for this book after trying out your recipe.

  17. NanasMom says:

    Sure wish your recipes had American conversions as well. I try to convert each one and some of the measurements are easy, but some are hard, even with online help. Oh well, I just enjoy getting your wonderful recipes and stories. Thanks again for sharing with us all, hope you are feeling better.
    NanasMom in Alaska

Leave a Reply

