Cranberry Sticks

Cranberry-Stick

Was suppose to post this last week but I end up spending the weekend replying emails, placing orders, arrange for collection and 2 days is gone! Especially nephew came back on Sat and I had to make sushi for him, entertain him …

Back to this, it’s another cranberry bake. I gotten this book when I went for a trip few months back, it’s one of those replica book that you can find in China and it’s 1/3 of the price you get the original copy. And you can’t find the original copy there! I went to these 5 storey book store and the variety is so good, not much on baking thou … but they do have books on camera usage which I’ve not seen it here. I love buying books when I travel despite the weight and I carry 10 books back this round, buying from bookstore right up to the duty-free airport store. At times you don’t get the same edition if you buy locally, some of the books like my favourite author’s novel, the ones in Hong Kong has a different color and the paper quality is also better, yet cheaper too. And for baking recipe books, they are definitely cheaper and more variety.

And this cranberry stick? It has  a rich butter taste, I love the addition of the cranberries giving it the fruity flavour, it will go well with a cup of tea 🙂

Ingredients :
100g plain flour
65g unsalted butter
70g sugar
100g egg (about 2)
A pinch of salt
30g dried cranberries

Method :
1. Preheat oven t0 degrees and prepare 7 1/2″ x 7 1/2″ square tin.
2. Sift flour and salt together.
3. Cream butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
4.  Add egg in gradually until well mixed.
5. Fold in flour and add in dried cranberries
6. Bake at 170 degrees for 30-35 mins.
7. Allow to cool in tin for 10 mins before cooling on wire rack.
8. Cut into strips and serve!

Recipe adapted from Cafe Sweets

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cranberry Sticks

  1. IreneYong says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Same like U, I also likes to visit Bookstore whenever I go overseas. I’ve brought 21 cooking books from my recent Taiwan Trip. I shared the same thinking as you – Books variety in SG are too limited.

    Nice bake!! Is this a cake or cookies???

    • Irene says:

      Hi Irene there…

      You bot so many books from Taiwan? Did you use the order here (using books.com.tw) …..pick up from seven 11 store in Taipei?

      Could you share which stores are a “must go” type? I maybe planning a trip to Taipei..and won’t want to miss anything good there.

      Hear from you…or you may drop me an email at irenehy88@gmail.com

      Cheers!
      Irene too…

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, I would say it’s a cross between cake and cookie. Cakey yet the texture is like a cookie, a little on the dry side. Wah! 21 books … I love books from Taiwan especially the Ytower series! When I was in Taiwan 2 years ago, I wasn’t into baking so I din buy but I guess it will be different if I go there this year!

  3. Edith says:

    Is the books in China reliable? I recently got hold of a book in library. Pictures looks good but upon reading the recipes, I find that it is a total waste of time. Very vague, and alot of wrong information.

    But I heard Taiwan is good.

  4. Irene says:

    Hi Elyn

    Nice bakes… and pic too..

  5. Blog Resipi says:

    looks great!

  6. Irene says:

    Hi Elyn

    Wanted to ask you what camera and lens are you using? All your pics are veri professionally taken….with the background and the layout etc? Did you take up any courses or learn from any books?

    Wanna learn from you : )

    Presume you also own alot of tools for photography purposes?

    Actually…with all your great shots..you can publish a book…..ever thot of it??

    It will certainly sell well…
    Good job!

    Cheers

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Edith, this is my first “china” book and it’s copied from a Hong Kong book so not sure. Taiwan books are more reliable.

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, thanks for your kind words. I wish I owe a DSLR 🙂 My camera is less than S$400 and does not allow lens change, it’s a very basic one.

  9. felicia says:

    this kinda reminds me of biscotti!
    but looks softer. heh.
    i can kinda imagine how it tastes like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

