Thin & Crispy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Thin-Crispy-CCC-1

It’s August and I love this month!! Back to this post, there is a lot of chocolate chip cookies around but usually they are not specific, you don’t know if they are soft and chewy, if they are crispy? I’ve baked hundreds of chocolate chip cookies for order and giveaways till I’ve no interest to bake chocolate chips cookies for own consumption. But this recipe really interest me that it’s crispy and thin that I couldn’t wait to give it a try. While looking through the recipe, doing all the conversion, going through the steps, I was wondering if I need to flatten the cookies so that it’s thin?

Thin-Crispy-CCC-2

During the preparation, I wasn’t sure if I’m on the right track as after adding in the flour, I wouldn’t call it a dough, it was almost like a cake batter! I use an ice-cream scoop to scoop the batter onto the baking sheet and follow the instructions to keep them 2 inches apart. I watch over the oven to see that from a heap rounded dough, it slowly spread out and flatten within 5 mins and thereafter the shape of the cookie is set and brown subsequently. It’s round and thin, just like how I wanted it to be! And absolutely no regrets testing out this recipe 🙂 I love these cookies!

Thin-Crispy-CCC-3

The recipe is adapted from Martha Stewart, I’ve reduce the sugar and also rewritten the steps to what I do. For example instead of creaming butter and sugar together, I usually will always cream or fluff up the butter first before adding the sugar. Instead of breaking the whole egg into the mixing bowl, I mix water, egg, vanilla and salt together and slowly add into the batter.

Thin & Crispy Chocolate Chip Cookies
170g plain flour (original recipe 150g)
1/4 tsp baking soda
140g unsalted butter
100g caster sugar (original recipe 125g)
70g light brown sugar (original recipe 80g)
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (original recipe 1 tsp)
1 Egg
30g water
3/4 cup chocolate chip (original recipe 1 cup)

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
2. Sift flour and baking soda, set aside.
3. Cream butter first and add sugar till pale and fluffy on medium speed for about 2 mins.
4. Mix egg, water, vanilla and salt together and reduce mixer speed to medium-low and add slowly into butter/sugar mixture, ensure mixture is well mix and does not curdle after each addition. Continue to mix for about 1 min.
5.  Add in flour mixture, mix until just combine, don’t overmix as you don’t want gluten to develop and end up with tough and hard cookies.
6. Stir in chocolate chips manually.
7. Drop heap tsp (the ice-cream scoop I’m using is about 2cm size) onto baking sheet, as the cookie will flatten out, do keep them 2 inches apart.
8. Bake for 10-12 mins.
9. Let cookies cool on baking tin for a few minutes before removing them. The cookie is still soft once it’s out  from the oven, it will keep it’s shape as it’s cool.
10. Cool completely on wire rack, do keep cookies once it’s cool or it will lose it crisp when it’s leave out for too long.
11. Cookies can be kept in air-tight container in room temperature for up to a week.

Note :
* If you’re using normal chocolate chip, you could reduce the sugar slightly by another 10-20g. If it’s not sweet then this will not be a cookie! If you’re using bittersweet chocolate chip, you could keep to the stated quantity.
* Depending on the brand of flour you used, you could slightly varies the amount due to the different absorbent level.
* I personally felt  the original recipe for 1 cup of chocolate chip is too much so I cut down to 3/4 cup.
* I wanted the cookie to be more fragrant hence I added a little more vanilla.
* The final batter/dough is fairly soft so do not worry if you don’t get a cookie dough. Don’t attempt to roll the dough on your hand.
* Don’t bother to flatten the dough before baking, just put tsp of batter on it, it will flatten out nicely.
* Do line your baking tin with greaseproof paper, I have been using Phoon Huat silicone paper which is recyclable.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

