Grand Marnier Orange Chiffon – Take II

Orange-Chiffon-Cake-01

I wrote this entry probably a month back and was waiting to resize the pictures and post up, soon it was left forgotten yet vividly remember I’m missing an entry! So here it is.

This is a follow-up to this recipe, like I mention the last time, it gives a sturdier chiffon texture meaning it’s not cotton soft, it’s still soft and fluffy. I shared half of that chiffon with my sis family and my BIL complain that my sis and nephew finish all without saving a slice for him so today it’s just the perfect excuse for me to bake another one with adjustment to the proportion and let nephew bring him as his weekend snack.

There are some books that are bought for browsing and admiring, of course motivating one self that I will do something like that 😛 But this 好吃戚風蛋糕輕鬆上手 by 福田淳子 is certainly a worthy buy. I’ve since use 3 recipes with good result and eyeing a couple more to try! Some other recipes book are quite weird, I remember seeing some asking for squid ink?! I’m not in favour of using funny ingredients, not the adventurous type! And I don’t like the idea of buying a particular ingredient and using that little bit for one recipe. Probably which is why you see the same old boring bakes here?

Back to the chiffon, this round I cut a good 15g off flour and YES, this is texture I want, it’s cotton soft and fluffy! Following the author’s suggestion. I added a layer of icing on top and thou it does make the cake look more pretty BUT it’s super sweettttttttt! So this will be the first and also the last time I will attempt with this icing 😛

Here’s the recipe for reference :

For 7″ mould
3 egg yolks
70g caster sugar
35ml corn oil
1 tsp of Grand Marnier
60ml fresh orange juice (from 1 orange)
1/2 tsp orange zest
65g cake flour (original recipe is 80g)
4 egg whites

Icing
200g icing sugar
30ml Grand Marnier
10-20 ml water

Method :
1. Mix egg yolk with 1/3 portion of caster sugar and salad oil. Add in Grand Marnier and fresh orange juice, mix well.
2. Add in orange zest followed by cake flour and stir till the batter is smooth.
3. Whisk egg white to stiff peak, adding balance of caster sugar gradually.
4. Bring 1/3 of egg white to egg yolk mixture and fold well.
5. Combine egg white mixture into egg yolk and lightly fold in till no white streaks of egg white mixture is not seen.
6. Bake at 180 degrees for 30 mins.

For 8″ mould
5 egg yolks
110g caster sugar
55ml corn oil
2 tsp of Grand Marnier
95ml fresh orange juice (from 1 orange)
2/3 tsp orange zest
130g cake flour
7 egg whites
Method :
1. Mix egg yolk with 1/3 portion of caster sugar and salad oil. Add in Grand Marnier and fresh orange juice, mix well.
2. Add in orange zest followed by cake flour and stir till the batter is smooth.
3. Whisk egg white to stiff peak, adding balance of caster sugar gradually.
4. Bring 1/3 of egg white to egg yolk mixture and fold well.
5. Combine egg white mixture into egg yolk and lightly fold in till no white streaks of egg white mixture is not seen.

6.

Bake at 180 degrees for 40 mins.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Chiffon Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grand Marnier Orange Chiffon – Take II

  1. Irene Low says:

    Hi

    Wow so pretty…wouldn’t bear to slice it lei.

    This book 好吃戚風蛋糕輕鬆上手 is really nice with all the pretty cakes. I bot the Jap version from Tokyo.

    Have you tried using Nissin Wheat Flour, will it give the same texture?

    You have Grand Marnier? Big bottle? Where you bot it? Expensive or not har?

    Your bakes motivate me to bake this long weekend!

    : )

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, no .. haven try wheat flour 🙂 Not sure about the price of Grand Marnier cos my fren gave me half a bottle. Bake! It’s a long weekend, I have a bread proofing in my oven right now!

  3. Ellena says:

    Wow..Elyn! That’s a lovely Orange Chiffon 🙂

  4. reena says:

    Lovely with that additional icing but it’s just good to look at, no good to eat (for the waistline I mean). I don’t appreciate such icing, maybe can try frosting the cake instead, less sinful.

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Reena, have to agree with you that it’s really pretty and it’s also super sweet 😛 Personally I felt chiffon is best eaten as it’s original, for the light and fluffy texture!

  6. Homemaker says:

    Dear Elyn
    Love yr Orange Chiffon cake. I like to try, but in the area I live, the chiffon cake pan only had big sizes like 9″ how to adjust the ingredients? I always have problem adjusting the size of batter from recipes, usually to downsize it for a trial bake, any suggesstions?

Leave a Reply

