Retail Therapy

Wilton-Buy

What could be better than taking half day leave, had a good lunch of hand-made noodles with yummy Shanghai dumplings and a good shopping companion K, whom you ask if this is good and the answer is always pleasant to the ears but hurtful to the pocket?! Actually I do that to her too, I will tell her … yes .. yes … isn’t this something you’ve always wanted? It’s a good buy … buy … buy! Thanks to her encouragement otherwise I would have hesitate, put it back on the shelf then come home regretting again.

My bakeware shopping list is always very long and is never enough cos there are always something new and you thought it will be useful or you will use it some day. I’m certainly guilty of not using some of my bakewares, some silicone moulds which are still in the packaging (cos they’re such a steal and it’s like if you don’t buy now then you won’t know when you need it and end up paying up more blar blar). I’m sure you know as well that there will be loads of excuses to justify your purchase. I’ve a cupcake order for Teachers Day Celebration so it’s a “good” time to buy the Wilton Impression Mat and Cutter/Embosser. Anyway, I am telling myself that I will just take all these as my birthday present!

So back to my shopping today … well … these are the items that I’ve always wanted to buy … really! I have always wanted a cookie press, have tried those China-made ones and I had a hard time squeezing the dough out cos the mechanism doesn’t fit well. And that cookie spatula? It’s no fun transfering hot cookies off baking sheet when you do dozens of them everytime.

And … you may like to know that Phoon Huat have slightly reduce the price of Wilton product, the fondant smoother is like S$2 cheaper than before, I got the tube of Pink Decorating Icing for S$3.10 which I think it used to be almost S$5?

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Retail Therapy

  1. Michelle says:

    Hi Joie,

    May I know how much u got your cookie press and cookies spatula and did you got them from Phoon Huat as well?

    Pls advise. Thank you.

    Mixue

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Michelle, the cookie press is S$19.80 from Phoon Huat and the cookie spatula from BIY @ S$12.90. PH also have the jumbo spatula for S$10 plus.

  3. Wow it looks like you went on a huge shopping spree!

    I don’t get how the cookie press works- my mum has a really old-school one- but they do look like such fun!

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Laureen, I vividly remember using one long long time ago, it has the catch that a certain amount of batter is press out proportionately. I will look for a spritz cookie recipe and give it a try!

  5. felicia says:

    you make me want to do phoon huat/pantry magic/shermays shopping!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Felicia, I just learnt that PH @ Holland Village is 3% more than the other PH outlet … the impression mat is S$29.50 instead of S$30.50 I paid @ PH. Nowadays PH is pretty well stock on Wilton product too.

Leave a Reply

