Wilton Decorating Icing

In my earlier post, I mention that I bought a tube of Wilton Decorating Icing. I was curious if it will “set” and can be used on fondant so I thought I could share my review with readers here.

Rosette

I was doing some planning for the Teachers Day cupcakes so I decided to give this a try. With a coupler, you can insert any Wilton Tip (which I’m using Tip 18) for the rosette. I was worried if the icing will stick on the fondant but after letting it outside for 2 days, it have totally dried out so I think for those who don’t want to prepare royal icing and want to do a quick job, this icing is pretty good to give it a try (it’s stiff consistency by the way).

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking ingredients. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wilton Decorating Icing

  1. Ellena says:

    Wow..this is a great idea, thanks for sharing…. :p

    Em.. where can we get this “Wilton Decorating Icing” from? Is it expensive?

  2. BBerry says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the info 🙂
    Can this be used for drawing outlines?

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Ellena, I got it from Phoon Huat for S$3.10.

    Hi BBerry, yes.. u can just use Tip 1 to Tip 3.

  4. Ellena says:

    Wow.. thanks Elyn, will take look if i happen to be there.. :p

  5. evelyn poh says:

    Hi elyn, tks for sharing here. After I read yr blog, i went to get it too.

    Indeed, it really save alot of hassle in making the Royal Icing.. but somehow I found it a bit stiff.. any suggest to make it softer? Tks..

  6. felicia says:

    never really dared to buy wilton’s line of frosting etc.
    had a really bad experience with the candy melts!
    they were so so bad 😦
    maybe it was just that particular batch, i dont know!

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Evelyn, it’s more of stiff icing texture. I’m not sure if you want to try piping out some, mix wif just 2-3 drops (depending on the amt of icing you have) and “soften” it?

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Felicia, oh really? I saw candy melt and wanted to buy and give it a try too but din in the end.

  9. cookie says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Thanks for the neat trick. I am certainly gonna load up on the icing… I always whip up a batch of royal icing, and end up discarding a big chunk!

    Trust Wilton to come up with all these stuff!

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi Cookie! Same here, it’s rather difficult to do small batches but yet I don’t need so much. Get it from PH! I just saw the same thing at Gim Hin Lee for S$8.50!

  11. cookie says:

    Yes yes, I got it on my shopping list! Can’t believe the price difference in Phuat and GHLee!!!

  12. ila says:

    thats great… thanks for the tip..

Leave a Reply

