A little story to tell …

Cupcakes-01

I really have fun planning for the Teachers Day order! Being a slow tortoise or should I say I prefer to be well prepared in advance rather than scramble in the end, I started like 2 weeks ago, getting the tools, surfing the web, thinking of ideas and instead of hand sketching them out which I’m really bad at, I had them drew out on a graphic program – completely with colors! I end up with many more designs ready then I need. And I did a trial last weekend on expired fondant (yes, don’t throw them away and instead use them for practising!). Improve on the designs this week then got the ribbon printed and cupcake insert ready.

Cupcakes-02

And this is the outcome! 2 flavours here – Vanilla cupcakes with Nielsen Massey Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract and Chocolate Cupcakes using Valrhona Cocoa and buttercream is flavoured with Nielsen Massey Pure Orange Extract.

Cupcakes-03

Each and every cupcake is plan with a story to tell. To start off, there is a little banner to bring across the message “Happy Teachers’ Day” and “Thank You”. We then have a little pink present, roses, rosettes to say this cupcakes are a gift and lastly the pink star is for telling the teacher that he/she is a guardian star to the children!

Box

Packed and ready to deliver!

Cupcakes-04

My personal favourite!

Cupcakes-05

On another note, I have always put off preparing buttercream, I just cannot believe that it’s butter, shortening and lots of lots of icing sugar!! I had actually had my first cupcake with buttercream on today 😛 It isn’t too bad, with the addition of flavouring, it does help to cut down the sweetness and also mask off the butter flavour. Yummy!!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A little story to tell …

  1. lorrine says:

    The cupcakes & the packaging are all so pretty ! One question, don’t you need to refrigerate those with buttercream ? I find that in our hot weather, buttercream won’t last in room temperature.

  2. Che-Cheh says:

    Wow! they’re so pretty 🙂
    Well done!

  3. These are gorgeous! The ones with the little banners are my favourite 🙂 I’m sure the teachers will love them.

  4. felicia says:

    nice job 🙂

  5. These are so pretty! You are really really good! 🙂

  6. cookie says:

    Wonder which lucky teachers get these lovely cuppies!

    Too pretty… I am going to take your idea for Teachers’ Day next year.

  7. Genevieve says:

    whoever says buttercream has to have lots of shortening and icing sugar? there are so many kinds of buttercreams out there and you could always do something like a swiss or italian meringue one 🙂

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, thanks for the tips that you’ve given me!

    Hi Lorrine, nope, the buttercream didn’t melt. I think it largely depends on the proportion of shortening/butter. I’ve also left Swiss Meringue Buttercream out in room temperature for 2 days and everything is intact.

    Hi Che-Cheh and Felicia, thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Laureen, thank you! The little banner is the most straight “tool” to bring across the message.

    Hi SSB, it’s not difficult 🙂 Give it a try!

    Hi Cookie, thank you for your kind words 🙂

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Genevieve, wasn’t comfortable with using raw egg whites thou it’s “cook” so going back to the good old buttercream.

  10. Sihan says:

    those are sure lucky teachers. guess what? i’m a tuition teacher to 4 kids and i’m baking them stuff for teachers day. haha.

Leave a Reply

