Teochew Spiral Baked Mooncakes

Teochew-Spiral-Mooncakes

I love yam and this is the only type of mooncakes I am willing to fork out cash for this. I have nightmares making this mooncakes for 2 years or so? Let me try to recall wat I did, I remember there is a year I faithfully went to buy yam, steam then mash mash mash and fry fry fry, of course I wasn’t successful that year otherwise there is sure an entry somewhere. Another year was I had problem preparing the water and oil dough! The many many roll and fold got me so confuse that I end up with ~dunno how to describe~.

This year I was clueless what I am going to make till K mention about yam paste! I did enough homework this year, watch videos and finally got it right and I did 2 versions too! Started with the deep fried one and these are the baked ones. No pictures of the deep fried ones as they are gone very soon ~ I made only 3 pcs! The family love the deep fried ones, taste much better than baked ones 😛

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Teochew Spiral Baked Mooncakes

  1. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Beautiful layers you have there. I also started making this type of mooncake this year – my first attempt. May I ask at what degree do you bake yours and for how long? I baked mine at 200C for 25 mins but seems that in between the layers some are not really cook.

  2. cookie says:

    Nice one you have here…

    I thought of this too… but making my own yam paste is daunting!

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Delia, I baked mine at 190 degrees for 20 mins and it looks okay. Could it be the skin is too thick?

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Cookie! I bought the yam paste from KCT 🙂 Too lazy to cook my own too!

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Lorrine, thanks! This is far from wat I “imagine” it should be.

  6. Chris says:

    hi can i know where is KCT?

Leave a Reply

