Traditional Baked Mooncakes

Baked-Mooncakes-1

I have no plans to do baked one this year as I’ve orders to fulfill so I don’t think I have time for it. Things took a change when I realise the little nephew prefer baked ones than snowskin (he only eat the snowskin mooncake if he prepare them!). I was prepared to buy the traditional ones but after trying a few reputable ones, I didn’t really like them. It’s definitely not that they are no good but probably didn’t suit my taste palate. They have this very authentic taste in the skin, to the extend of a little bitter?

Baked-Mooncakes-2

K volunteer to pass me a little of everything so I don’t have to buy a fresh new set of ingredients for a few mooncakes. I did a check on the mooncake syrup and realise they could still be use so she kindly pass me some alkaline water. I steal some time in between orders, they are wonderful to mould! So I end up with only 11 pcs – 4 pcs white lotus paste and 6 pandan lotus paste. Before we could wait for the skin to be “matured”, we already ate 2! They are very small in fact, 50g. So I think I shall go and get some more done later!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Festive Goodies, Mooncakes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Traditional Baked Mooncakes

  1. diane says:

    hi,
    the moulds I got from you works great and I try my hands at baked moon cake yesterday your little cakes looks great, can I ask how you get your egg glaze on so even and shinny.my was not good at all.I use a smalll brush from wilton and use egg yolk with a little bit of oil but after it cool i can see bits of egg on the pastry.can you advise. thanks!
    diane

Leave a Reply

