Banana Cake

Banana-Cake-1

I’ve read very good review of Aunty Lucy’s Banana cake but my family including myself is not a fan of Banana cake, we will not buy this cake from outside bakery shop as the banana essence is so strong that it smell like banana perfume (if there is one)!

Banana-Cake-2

My mum was skeptical when I said I want to bake a banana cake but the bunch of bananas is going into the bin! I promise I will not add banana essence which I shld have added 1/4 tsp instead of the 1/2 tsp.  I thought a little pinch of cinnamon will be good too, then I will have Banana Walnut Cinnamon Cake! While we try to bake with natural flavours, I think a little is still good to enhance the original flavour. I could not get large eggs also so I reduce the recipe slightly to fit the 2 medium sized eggs I have. I didn’t have whipping cream so I replace with low fat milk. I also added a handful of toasted walnuts for the crunch!

Banana-Cake-3

The recipe is so good!! The cake is so fluffy and soft! I didn’t tent the cake as I wanted a crisp texture on the outer layer.

Ingredients:
160 gm Butter
140 gm Fine sugar
2 Eggs – beaten lightly
225 gm. Cake flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. Bicarbonate of Soda
220 gm. Bananas – mashed
50 gm milk
1/4 tsp. Banana essence

Method:
1. Cream butter and sugar till light and creamy.
2. Pour in eggs gradually and beat till creamy.
3. Add in whip cream, mashed bananas and banana essence and mix well.
4. Add in cake flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda and beat for a while only.
5. Pour into an 8″ round tray, and arrange sliced bananas on top.
6. Bake at 175C for about 50 to 60 mins. or until cooked.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Banana Cake

  1. Ellena says:

    Wow!!! Elyn, this cake realli look great!!! By looking at it.. i almost wanted to bite the screen in front of me le… 🙂 Will sure give this a try cos my son love anything made with banana….. 🙂

  2. felicia says:

    omg this is brilliant!
    looks so so moist and fluffy.
    i love eating banana cake for tea!
    would make an awesome breakfast too.
    are you a banana cake convert now? 😛

  3. evelyn says:

    Hi Elyn

    Is it either whip cream OR milk can use in this recipe?

    rgds
    evelyn

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Ellena, this recipe is good! Do give a try to it 🙂

    Hi Felicia, Hm … not totally a banana convert but only this one!

    Hi Evelyn, the original recipe call for whip cream but I didn’t have so I use milk instead, same proportion!

  5. Ireneyongal says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Thanks for the recipe. I have tried it today, it is really very good & yummy.

    I do not have milk at home so I replaced it with Buttermilk. BTW, what is the size of loaf pan U used???

Leave a Reply

