Mixed Berries Thumbprint Cookies

Martha Stewart Holiday Sweets magazine caught my eye while I was browsing at the bookstore. Despite just a week away from the holiday and I probably won’t have time to try the recipes but everything look so good that I bought a copy! At least the Christmas mood (for me) finally set in 🙂


Thumbprint cookies are named as such because you create an indent on the cookie using your thumb before adding some jam in it. The original recipe in the magazine call to make your own filling but I used ready-made mixed berries jam.

The  cookie is of a crunchy texture and I like how the jam compliment the sweetness of the cookie which taste refreshing. And they are very easy to make, I’m sure children will have fun making these too!

These are going into the cookie bag for giveaway!

Mixed Berries Thumbprint Cookies

Ingredients
110g unsalted butter
90g caster sugar (original recipe call for 110g sugar)
1 egg yolk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
200g plain flour (original recipe call for 175g plain flour)
1/2 tsp salt

Method
1. Cream butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
2. Add yolk and vanilla till well mixed.
3. Add in sifted plain flour and salt.
4. Cover bowl with plastic wrap, chill until firm, at 1 hour.
5. Form balls of dough and place on greaseproof paper.
6. With the handle of a wooden spoon, press gently in the center of each dough to create indentation.
7. Bake for 10 mins at 180 degrees.
8. Remove from oven and press centers again if indentations lose definition.
9. Spoon fillings into centers.
10. Continue baking until are light brown around edges, approximately 10 to 12 mins.
11. Transfer to wire sheet to cool completely before dusting with confectioners’ sugar.
12. Cookies can be stored up to 2 days at room temperature in air tight containers.

Note :
Depending on the butter brand you used, the proportion of the plain flour could vary slightly. In my trial here, I added more flour as the dough is too soft when I’ve added in all 175g.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mixed Berries Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Pam says:

    Oh they are so cute, and they seem to be delicious, I’ll probably try this recipe, I loved it :))
    xx

  2. Hi Elyn,
    These are so lovely! I really admire your baking skills, even though I have not been leaving comments on your blog, but you have never failed to impress me with your lovely bakes and photos, great job and well done! Have a Merry Xmas!!

  3. Alison says:

    Hi Elyn,

    These look gorgeous and yummy! By the way, where did you get the copy of this magazine from? It looks lovely!

  4. Li Ying says:

    Hi Elyn,

    So happy to see you back in action again. My boy saw your post and he commented it so cute and pretend to grab one and try it. 🙂

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Pam, yes .. this recipe is wonderful. Do give it a try!

    Hi HBB, Thank you for your kind words 🙂 I’m not really good with words so have not been leaving comments too! BUT I’m certainly a follower of your blog. Your post have always been interesting! I like the recent travel ones 🙂

    Hi Alison, I got the copy from Kinokuniya for S$17.90. I suppose major bookstand have it too.

    Hi Li Ying, yes! I’m back in action again 🙂 Merry Christmas to you!

  6. Irene Low says:

    Nice bakes. I have this mag too…Martha has quite a good collection on cookies/cakes/pies.

    Where you got the flower mould? Is it those Phoon Huat’s plastic cutters with push on?

    Real girlish cookies!

  7. These are beautiful… I wish I could eat one now!

  8. Tammy says:

    I would like to make these mixed berries thumbprint cookies but I don’t know the measurements in grams. So how much would 110g of unsalted butter be? How much would 90g of caster sugar be? How much would 200g plain flour be?

Leave a Reply

