Sweet … sweet … sweet

With a long weekend, I decide that I am ready to do some fail bakes! I’ve attempted Macarons before, twice or thrice? and I’ve put off making them simply because I didn’t like to sift grounded almond and icing sugar! And you’ve to do it twice …, no I grind a little longer and sift once. I remember reading from somewhere is to add some icing sugar into the grounded almond during the grinding stage so it does not stick together and it does help. Neither do I have the patience to age the egg whites either. The failure rate is high and I didn’t want to waste any ingredients but I guess I just have to start from somewhere.

Trying out a different recipe and it took me 3 times to get it right! I read the proportion wrongly 😛 I got the egg whites stage wrong too! So having “let me try again” mode, I read the recipe again and I finally got everything okay. I bake another 2 times to get my oven temperature right, not that they crack but they brown so I went on to lower the oven temperature. I know that there are different methods of making macarons and with this trial, I will give other methods a try too and see the difference. Well, I indeed love them! Nephew love them too!!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Macarons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet … sweet … sweet

  1. Aimei says:

    Wow… congrats in getting it right! It looks so sweet and dainty… I love the pink. 🙂

  2. Ellena says:

    Wow… love that pinky colour of your Mac…. they look great! 🙂

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Aimei, thanks! It’s addictive to make and eat too! They are a bit too small in fact, approximately 2.5cm diameter.

    Hi Ellena, thanks! I love the pink tint too!

  4. me says:

    They look like you, so cute!!!!!!!!!!
    My hands are itching!!!!

    Happy New Year!!!

  5. tracieMoo says:

    Aww.. they look sweet in pinkish and so cute! Glad you gave it another try 🙂
    Happy New Year!

  6. ovenhaven says:

    These look sooooo sweet! I love how mini they are 🙂

    Happy new year, Elyn!

  7. Irene Low says:

    real sweetie…dear.

    : )

  8. Mochene says:

    Good to know I’m not the only one having mac disasters! Used to make them at my old job 3 times a week! Now, I can’t get a decent batch at home for nothing. Thought I’d hit perfection last night, only to find the shells hollow. Oh well, there’s always another day!

Leave a Reply

