A little more on making Pineapple Tarts

While I can’t share the Pineapple Tarts recipe, I hope to share some experience on making them here :

Butter – I personally prefer to use Lurpak Danish butter for the mellow fragrant and taste otherwise SCS is fine too. Golden Churn is too buttery and I find the taste is a little sharp for my liking. You could get SCS Butter for around S$3.20 or S$3.80 for a block of 250g from Sun Lik which I believe it’s even cheaper than what you may pay at supermarket. Check out the neighbourhood mini mart, you will be surprise that their prices are better than supermarket too.

Vanilla Extract – I use Nielsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract. You could smell the vanilla fragrance when you bite into the baked tart. While this is indeed expensive but considering it’s for own consumption, a good bottle of 4oz will last you for a year and it’s all well worth. You won’t want to turn back using normal vanilla essence anymore! The other alternative is the one from Ailin @ Tanjong Katong which I remember they said it’s from Australia? They are fairly good too!

Flour – I stick with Prima Flour. After using that few brand of flour, I realise different brand of flour have got different absorbent level. Prima’s flour are also finner. Though pricier, but isn’t the purpose of home bake is to eat quality food? Try dividing that difference into the number of time you bake and you realise it’s not that much afterall. Another shopping tip, I usually stock up my flour, caster sugar and icing sugar when I pop by Sun Lik. Their flour is repackage from Prima and it cost only S$1.90 (S$2.60 @ supermarket)!

There are 2 types of flour commonly used for pineapple tarts making – Plain and Top Flour. Plain Flour has a 12% gluten protein per cup of flour whilst Top flour has 8% gluten protein per cup. For melt in the mouth texture, you could use all Top flour or play around with the proportion!

Eggs – I buy them from wet markets! It’s difficult to get eggs weighing at least 60g from the supermarkets and they are usually like S$2.60? But you could actually get fresh eggs for S$2 – 60g eggs.

Other tips :
– If you’re using rubbing in of flour to butter method, do it quickly and don’t allow the butter to melt.
– As the quantity I do is quite a lot, I’ve use my KitchenAid to do everything, right from combining butter/flour to egg and finally to almost-a-dough. I didn’t want the KA to overwork the dough so I will manually combine the dough at the end.
– Don’t overwork the dough, they are not bread dough and is not meant for kneading. Just combine them and set them aside in the fridge for at least 1 hr before using.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tips. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A little more on making Pineapple Tarts

  1. Irene Low says:

    You are so sweet to share ur baking “kungfu”…really appreciate that!

    By the way, have you tried using cake flour for the pastry? Heard it will turn out veri smooth and fine pastry.

    : )

  2. Christine says:

    Ooh thanks Elyn. I need some advice from you. If I buy the pineapple filling from Phoon Huat or Sunlik, do I need to fry it again over low heat before using it?

  3. Yvonne says:

    Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. Aimei says:

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful tips! 🙂

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, no .. I’ve not use cake flour as it contain corn flour inside.

    Hi Christine, if the pineapple paste is too dry, you could add a little water to “moisture” it. No need to cook over the stove, just add in will do.

    Hi Yvonne and Aimei, you’re welcome and hope you find it useful!

  6. elaine says:

    hi,
    wish to ask which ready made pineapple paste is nicer? phoon huat or sun lik?

    thanks

  7. Fiona says:

    Hi, may I know how much it cost you for the Nielsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract? And where you bought it from? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

