Green Pea Cookies

After last year experience with these cookies, I wasn’t intending to make any this year but a regular visit to my baking ingredients supply shop, I was surprise to see the ready grounded and it cost S$2.50 for 250gm! I think it’s more like I didn’t want to believe the cookie will taste that bad so I decide I shall give it a try again. One of my customer after knowing that my intention is to make these cookies, recommended me the recipe from Y3K New Year Cookies Book and share with me that she have reduce the sugar.

No regrets trying the recipe! The proportion is just right, it’s a little salty with the sweetness. It wasn’t crumbly except that I should have roll them slightly thicker. It’s very easy to prepare, I got everything measure and mixed up within 15 mins. It’s a good change from the usual treats!

Ingredients :
130gm deep-fried green peas (milled)
100gm icing sugar (to sift)
1/4 tsp salt
150g plain flour (to sift)
100gm groundnut oil

For glazing – 1 egg yolk beaten (which I omitted)

Method
1. Combine all ingredients well except the groundnut oil.
2. Add in groundnut oil to form a dough.
3. Roll dough in between plastic sheet and cut out cookies.
4. Bake in preheated oven at 170 degrees for 15-20 mins till well-baked.
5. Cool before storage

Adapted from Y3K New Year Cookies Book – Alan Ooi

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Green Pea Cookies

  1. Pei-Lin says:

    Hey, there!! Thanks for sharing!! I miss this a lot!! So is my family! This is one of the to-do this CNY!

  2. Ida says:

    u’re tempting me to make this… and my list got longer again!

  3. Cecilia says:

    Made these yesterday, tasty with a hint of saltiness,I like the crunch too.My chopper lacking power made milling the pea difficult none the less had to pound it manually and it was definitely rewarding with the end product.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Cecilia, unless it’s a very powerful miller otherwise it’s difficult to get it really fine. Pounding is a good idea too!

Leave a Reply

