White Almond Cookies

As usual, I will plan what to bake during weekdays so I will not end up still thinking what to bake when Sat come. This is certainly not in my list till I flip through Alan Ooi Y3K New Year Cookies book. I do see this cookie popping up at bazaar sale, it look so white and neat and I wonder how it taste like.

And guess what? The main ingredient for this cookies is shortening and I’ve a big can shortening at home (leftover from my Wilton class) and I also have almond flakes too! Since this recipe does not require egg, it’s much easier to control the amount I want to do, I end up doing 40% of the recipe.

This is not the usual almond cookie, the structure is more compact within, the outer crust is also harder and inside remain crunchy. It is filled with the fragrance of toasted almond flakes.

Ingredients :
(A)
130g shortening
70g icing sugar
1/4 tsp salt

(B)
80g cornflour
120g plain flour

(C)
60g toasted almond flakes

Method :
1. Beat ingredient  A in a mixer until smooth.
2. Add in ingredient B and C.
3. Stir till well incorporated to become a soft dough
4. Roll between sheets of plastic to about 1cm thick.
5. Flour cookie cutter with some flour and cut into round discs.
6. Bake in pre-heated oven at 160 degrees for 20 mins.
7. Cool well before storage.

Recipe adapted from Alan Ooi Y3K New Year Cookies Book

Note :
1. Use a round cutter, as the dough is quite soft, the cut-out cookie will be easily distorted during transfering etc.
2. Use minimal utensils, remember shortening is very oily! Wipe with kitchen towel before washing.
3. I toasted the almond flakes during the preheat session.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to White Almond Cookies

  1. Irene Low says:

    Looks like this book from which you adapted the recipe has many interesting recipes. Think it is out of the book shelf liao…published in 2007…

Leave a Reply

