Kuih Baulu

With nephew going to P1 this year, this will be a good snack for him to bring to school for break time. I did once last year and he like it.

I use a different recipe this year from Sinner. Difference between last year recipe and this is the absence of melted butter.  I don’t have those traditional moulds and use the normal aluminium ones instead. It work fine and I make sure I grease it well so I do not have any problem with it sticking onto the mould. I like how easy the recipe is and everything is done pretty quickly.

Ingredients
1 large egg
30gm sugar
¼ tsp vanilla extract

30gm plain flour
1/8 tsp baking powder

Method
1. Place a greased kuih balu mould into a preheated 190C oven.
2. Whisk egg at full speed for 1-2 minute until light, pale and frothy.
3. Add sugar and vanilla extract and beat at full speed for another 1-2 minute until thick and creamy.
4. In another bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder. Fold lightly into the above mixture.
5. Scoop batter into the heated greased mould. Fill to the top of the mould.
6. Bake at 190C for 10 minutes or until the top is golden brown.
7. Remove kuih bahlu from mould with the aid of a skewer and leave to cool on a wire rack. Continue with the the rest of the batter (step 5-7).
8. Store in an airtight container.

Note :
1. If you are adding chocolate rice, do reduce the sugar.
2. I use a piping bag to fill the moulds which is much easier, faster and also cleaner.
3. Fill right up to the brim of the  mould, the batter doesn’t rise much.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes, CNY, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kuih Baulu

  1. Irene Low says:

    oh..another recipe. U didnt add rice flour? That is supposed to make it crisp. Crisp or not…it is still spongy. I will surely make this again…using your recipe!

    yar …shd use piping bags, I tried using the smallest ice cream scoop…..a mess over the baking tray.

    : )

  2. Irene Low says:

    Sorri…forgot to ask..how did you make your choc rices appear all over the cake. I used cherries (coated with bit flour) & it tends to sink to the bottom of the cake…

    Any advice on this?

    : )

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, yes .. another recipe. I thought this one is more similar to those store bought KB. I sprinkle the chocolate rice over the batter and fold in.

  4. Christine says:

    Hi Elyn, how many kuih baulu does the recipe yield? I was so inspired by you that I went to Sunlik to get the pans. 😉

  5. Mag says:

    Hi Elyn, yrs look so nice..mine became soft and not crispy at all…how did you make it crispy? i oiled my tray well but it still stuck. Help!!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Christine, this recipe should yield 30 small kueh baulu! I just made 100+ today 🙂

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Mag, mine isnt’ exactly crispy but the outside remain crusty. Your tray must be pre-heated before adding in the batter.

  8. ah qian says:

    how long do i need to preheat the mould ?

Leave a Reply

