Coffee Cupcake

I pick up this little book from NTUC Xtra during one of the lunch time shopping trip. I’ve also seen the same series other titles and even Donna Hay’s magazine at the bookshelf too. Well, it’s another bargain book that is too good to resist. I love the size (like reader’s digest) that makes it easy to tug inside the bag for reading.

After trying very hard to remember the list of bakes that I want to do, I finally remember that Coffee Cupcakes is the one I’ve been wanting to do since 2 weeks ago. I also didn’t want the can of Illy Espresso Coffee Dark Roast to go to waste so yup, this is the one.

It’s certainly a easy preasy recipe to put together. The recipe uses all brown sugar instead of the usual caster sugar, the sweetness is just right. The texture is soft but yet is dense when you bite into. The aroma of the roast coffee is wonderful thou.

Talking about cupcakes, there is this little stall at the west side selling “muffins”. I bought 2 to try. Putting aside that the muffins are small and didn’t come cheap, a bite into and you will know this isn’t muffin. The crumbs are fine and compact, it’s a cupcake base! It’s quite disappointing that consumers are mis-led in such a way. Weel, I’m very sure I’ve make Coffee Cupcake today!

Coffee Cupcakes – Makes 6

62g butter, softened
70g brown sugar
1 tbsp ground coffee mixed with 1/2 tbsp hot water
1 egg
150g self-raising flour
60g milk

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
2. Beat butter and sugar in small bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy.
3. Add combined coffee and water.
4. Add in eggs, beating until just combined.
5. Separate flour into 3 additions and alternate with milk (flour being the last addition).
6. Bake for 20 mins until browned.
7. Stand in pan  for 5 mins, turn top side up and leave to cool completely.

Recipe adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly Cupcakes & Cookies

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coffee Cupcake

  1. Ellena says:

    Wow!!! What a lovely coffee tea cake :p Love the texture 🙂

  2. ida says:

    very cute cake mold!

  3. These cupcakes look lovely, and I am sure it taste delicious especially it is made with Illy! I totally agree with you when I tried those so-called ‘muffins’, to me they are cupcakes and I am sure they are made using the ‘creaming’ method. I only like muffins that are made by the ‘muffin method’ 😉

    • Elyn says:

      Hi HBB, the illy coffee is great! About the so-called muffins .. yup, I saw them using the creaming method and the batter is kept in a big box outside room temperatures that makes me wonder if there is added substance.

      • I think most commercially baked cakes would use some form of ’emulsifier’ to keep the cake soft, just like breads and buns that you get from outside.

Leave a Reply

