Almond Bean Chiffon Cake

I was just thinking to bake a cheesecake today as I have some cream cheese to use but totally forgot about it and went ahead to bake a chiffon. Something light and since my last bake was a few months ago, am not sure if I’ve forgotten how to make one! Despite baking a couple of chiffons till now, I still get butterflies whenever I bake one. Will it rise? Will the texture be okay? While this cake require certain technique but I do have to say that it’s also easier to prepare. I got everything ready within 15 mins and send the chiffon in the oven, also with the least utensils to wash.

Glad that the chiffon turn out good, better than what I’ve expected! Well,  it doesnt matter if there is a crust, it doesnt matter if I have a flat chiffon top. I have somehow got over that and as long as the chiffon texture is pillow soft ~ I’m happy with it 🙂

This is certainly my favourite chiffon book ~ 好吃戚風蛋糕輕鬆上手 by 福田淳子. The recipes have not fail so far and it does not use any cream of tartar and baking powder as the rising agent. This recipe is interesting in a way that the proportion of dry ingredients ~ cake flour and ground almond is the same. The texture is slightly coarse with a nutty fragrance and most importantly it’s really pillow soft. I’ve added a tsp of Nielsen Massey Almond Extract so it smell really good even when it’s baking in the oven.

Ingredients for 17cm (7″) chiffon tin
3 egg yolks
60g caster sugar
50ml vegetable oil
50ml water
60g cake flour
50g ground almond
4 egg whites

Method :
1. Whisk egg yolks, 20g caster sugar, oil and water together.
2.  Add in flour and ground almond and stir to form a smooth batter.
3. Whisk egg whites till stiff peak and fold in the egg yolk mixture.
4. Bake for 30 mins at 180 degrees.
5. Overturn the cake and cool completely before removing.

Recipe adapted from  好吃戚風蛋糕輕鬆上手

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Chiffon Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Almond Bean Chiffon Cake

  1. alison says:

    The texture looks really nice!

  2. hanushi says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Do you have the recipe for 20 cm? Can share with me?

    Thanks! 🙂

  3. Dani HO says:

    Just made it ~ very nice ~!!
    SOoO soft ~~^^ thx for sharing ~

Leave a Reply

