It’s HIS birthday!

It’s HIS birthday!

Following my previous post about little nephew wanting a plane cake for his birthday? I prepare Plan B in case I fail to pull off a cake like that so I bought a plane cookie cutter and in my mind, I was thinking a light blue fondant round cake with the plane cutout fondant going around it, with some clouds etc … I wasn’t all decide that I will bake the cake till I bring out the flour! There is many first for this cake baking session! 1st time baking a 8″ square cake which uses 6 eggs. 1st time using this cake recipe which I’m glad it turn out nice! 1st time using chocolate ganache to frost. 1st time sculpting a whole cake. 1st time covering a 3D cake with fondant.

So the day to bake the cake has come! There isn’t much reference on the web, no video tutorial so all I had is the Planet Cake Book and imagination. I’m not a visual person nor a freehand person, I really can’t draw! I am actually more than ready to fail cos I didn’t prepare the fondant cutout in advance, didn’t do research, it’s more like working along the way. So I photocopy the template provided by the book, cutout and trace it over on fondant, I was glad that I manage to pass this.

The amount to fill an 8″ square cake tin is a lot – good for a 9″ round tin. The cake batter fills up 3/4 of the KA mixing bowl, slightly over the flat beater! The amount of butter went in is a good 320g and through this, I realise the SCS butter that is on offer for 3 packs is only 227g! not 250g! The cake is then bake for a good 55 mins, it took a long long time to cool. Took this time to do the cutouts, windows, wings and the birthday boy name!

Torte to 3 layers, sandwich with ganache and the nightmare begin! I was telling Ida that I think I’m scare of the cake more than the cake scare of me! 🙂 I look at it for a good while, wondering how and where I should start cutting. I did get it started, not exactly to the book design, following as closely as I can.

Please pardon me that it’s not as neat but definitely have learn a lot this round. I hope I have pass 🙂

Inside of the cake – rich and moist, it’s indeed a very nice cake! Sandwich with 55% Valrhona Equatoriale of 70% and 30% of 64% Valrhona Manjari.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Butter Cakes, Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s HIS birthday!

  1. This looks incredible, Elyn! I knew you could do it! 😀

    Happy birthday to Kevin! I’m sure he’ll be delighted with the cake!

  2. Cindy says:

    Great job Elyn! Very impressed with all your recent pieces, getting better and better!

  3. alison says:

    It’s beautiful…good job on it!

  4. ida says:

    Passed with flying colours my dear!

  5. Stephanie says:

    Wow…Impressive 🙂

    I bought the butter offer pkt too. Like you, I didn’t realised it’s 227g until reading it here.

    • Elyn says:

      Hi Stephanie, thank you! The butter sure doesn’t look like 227g, I guess they reduce in both height and width so we couldn’t tell but it’s still a good deal?

      • Stephanie says:

        Yeah..Beats better than nothing especially with the prices of butter rocking high these days. Should be able to last more good bakes 😉

  6. What an impressive birthday cake! It’s every boy’s dream to have a plane cake like this, and the cake looks so moist and chocolaty.

  7. siti arnie says:

    waaahh !! Impressive … remind me of the plane cake from the show cake boss. Must be aot of hard work and tough ..

  8. Mei Teoh says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I admire your skill! Cant believe it is your first time.

    Cheers, Mei

  9. Caroline says:

    Wow – A cute plane cake! You have made it at last. You have improved a lot!

  10. ovenhaven says:

    I would’ve never guessed it’s your first time! Great job, Elyn 🙂 Kevin must’ve been elated!

  11. Qomo says:

    Altho this is quite belated–but have to add on…the cake looks delumptious! I’m still looking for my perfect moist/tender choc cake recipe–hope you can share the recipe for me to try it out…pleeze 😀

Leave a Reply

