Marshmallow Cake

Comparing to the 1st time I make this cake, this round it is much more easier. Knowing exactly what to do, when and how to pour in the marshmallow without the biscuit crumbs floating around, when to pour in the jelly layer that it stick onto the marshmallow layer without marshmallow bits floating around.

With just a big cake last week, I decide to go easy this week. I’ve been wanting to make this again but the lack of vegetarian gelatin hold me back. While I got the so-call vegetarian gelatin from neighbouring country, it was packed by them so I am really doubtful if it’s really vegetarian gelatin or just because the chinese name is 鱼胶粉 so people assume it’s fish? It’s usually an extract from beef bones btw. I finally got some vegetarian gelatin samples and is trying them out so it’s just the right opportunity to try this non-bake cake. Gelatin is added to both the marshmallow and jelly layer, while it did set but I suspect it’s not as “strong” as normal gelatin so the amount of water/quantity will need to be adjust.

The overall proportion of the cake will need to be adjust. The biscuit layer can be lesser, the marshmallow layer need to be reduce and the jelly layer can be another 20% more? And probably I didn’t get the usual brand of digestive biscuit, it’s quite crumbly and doesn’t stick well together.

I was very careful when I took the jelly off the shelf but despite the box is raspberry flavour and in red color, I got  purple jelly crystal in grape flavour! What happen? Guess there is a mistake with the factory packing.

The pretty royal icing flowers are from Sun Lik. In a pack of 2 colors (about 21 flowers per color) for just S$6.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Marshmallow Cake

  1. I’ve never had a marshmallow cake but this looks so light and refreshing!

    Pity about the mistake with the jelly though I imagine grape would have gone just as well as raspberry would with the cake.

    • Elyn says:

      It does sound funny about cooking marshmallow but you won’t tell it is marshmallow after the final product. I thought it’s lighter than cream cheese 🙂 I think I shld have gotten the strawberry instead.

  2. ida says:

    wow! this is neat!

  3. Irene Low says:

    Looks delish…you sharing the recipe?

  4. yan says:

    gorgeous looking cake !!!

  5. Bakericious says:

    I just made the marshmallow cake recently, taste gd but the outlook cannot make it. Your marshmallow cake looks so beautiful.

    • Elyn says:

      My first trial din turn out nice too. Dun pour the jelly or mashmallow in from the pot, use a scoop and very gently pour onto the earlier layer so the bits doesn’t float up. Hope this help 🙂

  6. ovenhaven says:

    The cake looks gorgeous, Elyn! I love how you sliced it up so neatly 🙂

  7. jennifer says:

    Thanks Elyn. I’ve recieved the gift…very cute!

  8. Pei-Lin says:

    Eh, nice cake there! But blame our hot, humid weather! I could see the cake is sweating … Haha! Never try marshmallow cake before, wondering how it’d taste like … Now you’ve given me an excuse to plunge into this deal! Haha! Hope I can find a marshmallow cake recipe to “re-cake” it … Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

