Espresso Chiffon

I took a good 2 weeks break from baking, the last post on the cupcakes order is done sometime back and yes, I do have some backlogs to be posted.  Work is certainly catching up and it drain me so much that I had to recuperate over the weekend, not forgetting the bad sleeping patterns I had, imagine dreaming about Excel cell with numbers filling. The heat wave also have hit me, with migraine coming back and not to mention the emotional draining matters. Well, life have to go on, right? The convenience of tweeting through my new toy, iPhone that keep me connected to the world, check emails, surf the web etc. Taking a break also allow me to catch up on Autumn’s Concerto, touching drama!

While I have to say that Chiffon isn’t the easiest to handle but at the same time, it’s also the fastest to prepare minus away the butter greasiness. It will just take 15 mins of preparation, goes into the oven to bake and unmould. I wasn’t really careful today so I actually overwhip my egg white a little! And I didn’t use my KA mixer to mix in the egg yolk batter, I actually use a spatula to fold in! I have always leave it to the KA mixer to fold the egg yolk into the meringue, believing that it will do a more thorough job than manually 😛 Thankfully, the cake didn’y fail, it’s aromatic, its soft with a tinge of moistness.

Coffee is certainly a flavour that leave a deep impression in my mind so I chose Espresso Chiffon for this week bake, and using the reliable recipes from my favourite chiffon book 好吃戚風蛋糕輕鬆上手 by 福田淳子.  I strained the Illy Espresso Coffee Dark Roast but I do love the little black specks and it’s such a flavourful cake and will even be better if I have open up the bottle of Kahlua.

Ingredients for 17cm (7″) chiffon tin
3 egg yolks
80g caster sugar
40ml vegetable oil
2 1/2 tbsp ground coffee mixed with 45ml hot water
80g cake flour
4 egg whites

Method :
1. Whisk egg yolks, 30g caster sugar, oil and coffee mixture together.
2.  Add in flour and stir to form a smooth batter.
3. Whisk egg whites till stiff peak and fold in the egg yolk mixture.
4. Bake for 30 mins at 180 degrees.
5. Overturn the cake and cool completely before removing.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Chiffon Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

