Muscovado Brown Sugar Pound Cake

Bought this book in last May this is the 2nd recipe I’ve tried.

I use a silicone loaf tin hence you don’t see the straight sides and I didn’t have to do a cut in the middle before sending into the oven, I just push the batter to the side. I reduce the sugar slightly and use muscovado sugar instead of the normal brown sugar, just happen to have them in the pantry and it’s suppose to have a stronger molasses flavour. I wanted finner crumbs so I replace it with cake flour, the original recipe ask for plain flour so either one will do.

The cake is good 🙂 that little nephew who will only take a 2nd look if it’s anything chocolate had 2 slices for his tea!

Ingredients :
150g unsalted butter
110g light brown sugar
20g caster sugar
100g beaten eggs (approximately 2)
180g cake or plain flour
1/2 tsp double acting baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
75ml milk

Method :
1. Using an 8″ tube pan and preheat oven to 160 degrees.
2. Cream butter till fluffy and add in both brown and caster sugar cream till light and fluffy.
3. Add in eggs bit by bit, make sure it’s well beaten after each addition.
4. Fold in flour, baking powder and salt.
5. Fold in milk and vanilla extract.
6.  Bake for 70 mins till skewer comes out clean.
7. Cool in tin for 30 mins before removing.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Butter Cakes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Muscovado Brown Sugar Pound Cake

  1. Ellena says:

    this sure make a great treat for tea 🙂

  2. ida says:

    wah… i can see how compact and yet fine texture the cake is. eating this must be pure heaven!

  3. This looks really good, the crumb is so fine. What a perfect slice of pound cake!

  4. Pei-Lin says:

    OMG! The cake looks scrumptious! Good idea on using muscovado sugar! I love molasses so much — it’s a staple in my pantry. (I add molasses to my oatmeal, along with cinnamon.)

    Haha! We’re addicted to collecting cookbooks. When I look at my stacks of cookbooks, I realized that many of are “under-utilized.” Haha! Bad on me … ;P

  5. the cake looks gd with fine crumbs, yummy

  6. Alison says:

    The cake looks so good…I love the very fine crumb!

  7. HeartyBakes says:

    This looks rich and flavorful. I like the fine crumbs.

Leave a Reply

